ROSEMART WANTS A LAN PARTY!
March 24, 2010 - 11:26 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Oh my good god.

Remember when my lover was supposed to come visit, but didn't?

Well, I decided not to talk to him anymore, because I was very angry. I held out for about six weeks, until one night, perhaps last week or the week before, I was drunk and weak.

He messaged me first, so I replied, so he replied.

I remembered why I was friends with him.
Easy to talk to, funny, dorky.

"I'm building you a computer, right now," he says. "I'm texting you a picture." Sure enough, a picture shows up on my phone, of computer guts splayed out from the open interior of a tiny tower case.

"That's nice," I say and change the subject. He always says stuff like that, but rarely to never pulls through. In any case, I would much rather have his time than any physical thing he could give me.

"Can I call you?" he says. I don't feel like talking and I'm still pretty angry with him, so I lie, and say I'm just about to go to bed.

"I'll be entertaining, I promise," he responds.

"And I'll still be asleep," I laugh.

"Fine," he pouts. "Sweet dreams."

It feels good, in a strange way, to be talking to him again.

He did not drop the computer thing, though. He kept messaging me, texting me, telling me to expect a package by Wednesday. Last night he MSNed me while I was offline, with a tracking number.

This morning I stumbled out onto the front step, wearing my tatty old turquoise pants and a crew sweatshirt from the Grandstand show, and what should be sitting upon my stoop?

Why, a very large box!

Too excited to drag it downstairs I ripped the thing open on the dining room table, making a note that the paring knives really need sharpening.

Along with packing peanuts and an assortment of beer bottle caps (I can just see him, sitting at his work desk, drinking beer and building this comptuer), a sleek, shiny silver machine.

It's TINY. Tiny, I tell you! Less than a third of the size of my old beast.

It took a little finagling to get the thing up and working (mostly because the obvious port for the monitor was not working, which did not surprise me, because I know this machine is made of old pieces), but man. It is a pretty little thing.

Oh, and you know how much harddrive space I had before? 30 gigs.

Now?

698 gigs.

WUT THA FUCK.

I need to hook my two towers together so I can get to transferring files (though I may just use my old tower as storage for photographs, et cetera), but I need a few bits and pieces before I can do that.

In the meantime, I feel like I should boot up the old beast again, but I don't waaaaaaaanna.

This new machine is so sleek and quiet and fast. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...

Now maybe the boys won't make fun of me at LAN parties...

.

Rosie.

Before&After