Not quite the champion
May 30, 2010 - 9:02 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

There was an event yesterday. The Bardic Championship was up for grabs.

Last minute like, I decided to participate.

After all, I have a handful of songs in my head, and about a million fairy tales I can tell.

So I go to sign up, and there on the page, blazoned like fire across my eyeballs, the name of my ex.

I know, I know. It is three years dead and gone. I ought to let it go.

But how do you forget the most painful emotional experience you've ever had?

If you figure it out, tell me.

Needless to say, when I saw his name, I knew he'd win the championship, especially if it came down to a populace vote. He is the charmer.

I did well. I sang a slightly bawdy song (The Chandler's Wife) and told a story of Valissa the Wise.

He told a story to the kids, then did a song/puppet show with a freakin' computer to back him up (I think that's cheating, personally...).

The fucker used the bodhr�n I gave him for his birthday just before he ditched me.

Anyway, long story short, it came to a tie.

Oh, the fear on his face was delicious when they asked for a tie breaker. I know he didn't have anything prepared, nor does he have a stock of stories sitting in wait. We did rock/paper/scissors for who went first, and the lot fell to me.

I told the story of the Fire Bird. Not one of my funniest, but one I knew really well, and people still liked it. I got a lot of compliments on both my stories.

I don't know what he told. I left the room.

In the end, it came down to a populace vote, and although it was close, he won, and I wasn't surprised.

The bullshit he spouted to their Excellencies when he was accepting the championship had me grinding my teeth.

I clapped for him, though. He will be a good champion, and I can't argue that.

I just wish it had been me.

I called G when I got home. I knew he was out at his own event, and wouldn't be home 'til Monday, but I was feeling down and wanted someone to cheer me up.

Needless to say, he wasn't there, and I'm venting to a little white box.

Ah well. Ah, me.

I need to start writing again.

.

Rosie.

Before&After