Gross
October 04, 2010 - 8:13 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

As I dozed, I listened to the rustling of him getting ready for work.

There was silence for a moment, and I thought he'd gone, so I started to drift off again.

A hand on my hair, a kiss to the cheek, temple, forehead.

And then he was gone.

Why is my life such a goddamned mess?

~

The sky was fantastic tonight. I wish I'd had a camera.

Gold and peach, firery orange. Perfect fall weather.

Downtown was a silhouette of smoky black. The sun, hot and thick, spilled out between the tall dark fingers of office buildings.

~

I sighed, heavily, thinking about my life.

"STOP IT," she said, poking me directly in the heart.

"Stop reading my mind!" I said.

"I don't have to, you did this--" She emulated the big sigh.

"Just for the record," I said. "That was a 'what the fuck am I doing with my life' sigh, not a lovelorn one."

"Yes," she said, fixing me with an eye. "I know."

~

What a mess, what a mess.

How gross it is.

.

Rosie.

Before&After