Cruel, oh cruel
May 08, 2011 - 10:49 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I had the cruelest dream last night.

It was...some time in the future.

What was I doing?

I can't even remember.

I had to go to this place. It was green, semi-tropical. The building was build of thick beams of dark wood, had a wide open courtyard with many levels. There were small elevated cabins in the center of the courtyards. I think they were residences for the people that worked at this building.

It was a conference, perhaps, for young people. I think I was supervising some children.

G was there. He worked there. I can't remember what he did. Something outside.

I got to talking to one of the organizers. I didn't know her, but somehow she knew the whole history between G and I.

I avoided mentioning anything until, in a moment of weakness, I told her: "I haven't dated anyone else in four years."

She looked at me, shocked somewhat, then thoughtful, and left.

I was to meet her later, when the sun went down, to finish some work, but when I went to meet her in the courtyard I came face to face with G.

The air was thick with moisture and unsaid words and he looked at me, as if he could see right into my heart.

"Oh, Rosie," he said, and reached for me.

I fell asleep crying against his chest, tangled in his arms.

And then I woke up, and really cried.

The cruelest dream. It's never been like this before.

.

Rosie.

Before&After