Hermit crabs
August 12, 2011 - 11:10 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I fled the city.

I informed my roommate the night before I left, that I was going back to my hometown for some rest and quiet.

The email he sent me back included the line: "Have some fun. It looks like you need it."

I didn't realize I was quite that obvious.

I feel like my whole perspective on life is upsidedown.

What do I want?

Who am I?

Why am I?

I feel like the last person in the world without a child. Everybody has had whoops-babies.

Do I even *want* a child?

It's not something I think about, because of my mutated uteris.

Yesterday I packed a picnic, grabbed Janette, and we headed down to the lake.

It was an isolated little beach. Janette had never been there. We drank ciders and bobbed around naked in the water.

I had forgotten how much I like nude beaches. I forgot how uptight the city is.

It was truly a lovely time. I think we spent about six hours in the water, until the sun went down and it got too cold.

Glacier fed lake, and all that business.

But now...I feel blue and restless still.

It's been good coming back, but it doesn't really feel like home anymore. It feels like a shell I've vacated, and some new and foreign hermit crab has taken it over.

.

Rosie.

Before&After