Pancakes and children
May 27, 2012 - 10:02 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I am currently laying face down in my bed.

My limbs feel deflated. I can feel muscles I never knew I had, and all of them hurt.

The knuckles of my hands hurt, too, and that worries me the most. My mother has a touch of arthritis. I don't want to develop it, but more mornings than not these days I wake up with knuckles that feel like hot lead.

It probably didn't help that I pushed it and pushed it this past week. I can't believe the week went so fast.

I talked to the face painters yesterday, and yesterday alone they did over 1300 faces. That's between two face painters.

I KNOW IT'S INSANE!!

The boss gave me and the other technician bubble wands to play with in between our duties.

I was blowing and blowing and this little boy, barely walking, was staring.

"I try," he declares and holds up his hand. So I crouch down, load up the bubble wand for him to blow.

And he puts it in his mouth.

"Not in your mouth, dear," his grandpa says, pulling the blue plastic from the little boy's mouth. "Let's try again."

So I load the wand up, and hold it out for him.

And he sticks his tongue through the wand.

I am laughing pretty hard by now.

"No, no," his grandpa says ruefully. "Just blow! Just blow!"

I load the wand again. The little boy holds out his hand.

"By myself! By myself!" he declares, so I hand him the wand, and he manages to hold it, even though his hand barely gets around it, and manages about two bubbles.

He wanted to do more, I could tell, but his grandparents took him away then. After all, when you have a giant inflatable whale, bubble wands are just stupid, right?

Man. That kid is going to be a scientist or an engineer or maybe a theatre person.

My mom thought I was going to be an engineer when I was a toddler. Apparently she found me opening and closing the garden gate once, staring at the hinge.

Well, I *do* build things now, that's for sure.

My god, my hips hurt.

Will somebody bring me pancakes in the bath?

Whole wheat pancakes with mashed bananas, strawberry yogurt, and maple syrup.

I promise I'll be naked when they arrive.

KTHANXBAI.

.

Rosie.

Before&After