Oh, I know.
August 26, 2012 - 11:20 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Did I...did I just go on a date?

With an ex?

With G?!

I don't think so, but I'm not sure.

He showed up at the event on the weekend. Was surprised to see me. I wasn't surprised.

"Can I see you tomorrow?" he asked.

"Maybe," I said. "Text me."

I rattled off my phone number.

"Do you have a pen?" he asked, a rediculous parody of the first weekend we met.

"Nope," I said, and I walked away.

But he remembered the number. Texted me.

Picked me up this afternoon.

"Where do you want to go?" he asked. "Anywhere. Your choice."

I looked at him. He was exactly like I remembered, though perhaps the lines around his mouth were a little deeper.

"Disneyland?" I said, hopefully. He gave me the stink eye.

Instead I named a marketplace on the shoreline. I like the place. Produce, fish, chocolate, pastries, seagulls, ocean, rediculousness.

So we went. Talked. Walked.

Talked a bit about the future. Talked a lot about the past.

He still thinks he did no wrong, though he's sorry he hurt me.

I finally stood up.

"I can't talk about drama without gelato," I declared, so we went and got gelato.

When I handed over my debit card, he announced:

"Sorry, ma'am, that card is broken. Use this one!" and handed over his own card.

The cashier looked between my face and his. Mine looked a bit like -_- and his looked a bit like :D and she handed me back my card with a wink, then charged his.

Gelato is good for you. True story.

Later, we passed a brewery tasting room.

"Beer?" he asked, and I complied. It was good beer. He stole the tab when I was in the bathroom.

It was strange.

He drove me home after. It was getting dark. We might have spent five hours together with only minimal insults, and no deaths (or karate chops to the jugular, which is an improvement).

He dropped me behind my townhouse, so I had to cut across the lawn.

He pulled up beside me and rolled down his window.

"You look good, Rosie," he said, in a rather non-lascivious way.

I looked at him, smirked, said, "I know."

And walked away.

.

~Rosie.

Before&After