Perseverance
April 20, 2013 - 1:52 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I got a notice yesterday from the gubmint. (You gotta spell it like that: gubmint. Spelling it any other way implies that they're something real and competent.)

The gubmint says I made a mistake on my 2009 taxes and they're fining me $1200, then another $200 to correct the mistake (which is for reals), then another $200 in interest because I missed the original mailing.

That's $1600.

I have $1600. It's my OH SHIT money. I could pay it, but then I will be scraping by on the skin of my teeths with no safety net.

I cried a lot yesterday.

The stupid thing is, it IS my fault. I forgot to input one of my T4's. I work part time at a LOT of places, and that year I probably had six or seven T4s. To miss one, I wouldn't have noticed.

I called the gubmint and tried really hard not to cry while I inquired about this fine.

I got the most unusually helpful tax man on the phone, and he gave me a form to fill out and gave me some tips on filling it out.

I felt, for a little while, like that little old lady in The Incredibles, who is having trouble with her insurance and our hero tells her all the secret things she needs to know.

I hope I know all the secret things I need to know.

I hope someone takes pity on me.

I am not working much right now, even though I want to.

It's days like this that I think maybe I should ditch theatre and go find a 'real' job.

I feel like every time I get a little bit ahead, something comes up and takes big old chunks out of my money/self-esteem.

It'll be okay, I guess. It always is.

I just need to make more monies, all the time.

$1600 is a lot more than $250, and hurts a little bit more than six times more.

On the bright side, my roommate saw I was having a bad day and bought me my favorite favorite favorite expensive lemon sorbet.

I ate a bowl of it so fast I gave myself either acid burn (from the lemon), or cold burn on my tongue. :(

It made drinking whiskey hard, but somehow, I persevered.

.

Rosie.

Before&After