Cat
August 09, 2020 - 10:26 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

My cat is dying. She has throat cancer.

I am laying in bed. I can hear her heaving for breath out on the landing. The tumour is at the base of her tongue, and it's slowly suffocating/starving her. Tomorrow, we are taking her to the vet, maybe for the final time.

I want to hold her forever. But she's kind of a bitch and bites me if I touch her too much.

I mean, she bites me a lot less these days. But she took a good swipe at me this afternoon.

So she's outside my bedroom, and I'm inside, and I feel so stupid and cowardly and helpless in the face of her suffering.

Stupid mean jerk cat.

Sometimes she would break into my bedroom at night, and I would wake up to her grooming my eyebrows. Which was a terrifying experience, because she would periodically bite me in the face to make me stay still, as if I were a kitten.

She was not a gentle biter.

But she always seemed to know when I was having a bad day, and would insist on coming to bed with me. And then proceed to be a little bitch all night, and chew on my feet, and step directly on my nipple.

None of my friends like her because she's such a monster.

But she's MY monster.

I'm going to miss her so much.

.

Rosie

Before&After