And so it turns
November 24, 2022 - 9:47 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

"I want to take you on a date," he says.

He drives all the way out to see me. I let him in my bedroom.

We go to the island, find a cheap bnb because of the bad weather. He holds me in bed, squeezing me hard, just the way I like it.

I take him to a fancy french restaurant, and I pretend to know how to order wine. I get overwhelmed by options and order the house red. We split an appetizer.

He pushes the hair back from my face and kisses my forehead. We get reacquainted with each other's bodies.

It's all so........comfortable. Should I be worried?

Am I just feeling good because he's familiar and safe, or are these new feelings?

If we'd had a child the first time we'd dated, that child would have just graduated high school by now.

And here we are again, older, greyer, softer.

I'm not sure what to think.

For years after we broke up, if I had trouble sleeping, I would imagine myself tucked against his shoulder, because I always fell asleep so quickly there.

.

Rosie

Before&After