A daisy for Robin
February 25, 2002 - 12:21 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

On Friday, I was walking down Baker Street with Kristal on my arm and we were passing Subway and I suddenly remembered something and ground to a halt.

"Is Georama Flowers open?" I asked.

"I don't know," Kristal replied. "I think it is. Why?"

"I want to buy a daisy."

"A daisy?" Kristal seemed interested. "Why a daisy?"

I grinned. "I just realized I havn't seen Robin in a long while and I want to get him a daisy."

"Oh," Kristal replied, trying to let this sink into her head. "Right."

"Let's go get a daisy."

"Okay."

So we ran across the street, gleeful with our new adventure, and burst into Georama Flowers all aglow with energy and excitement.

"Do you have any daisies?" I asked the lady behind the counter.

She thought for a minute. Her face lit up with the infectious excitement, though she didn't really know what she was excited about. "Yes, we do! We just got some in. Hang on, I'll be right back."

She dissapeared and returned moments later with a big white plastic bucket of three different coloured daisies: red ones, yellow ones and plain white ones.

"What colour would you like?"

"I'd like a white one. Just one."

"Just one? Like this?" She went to break off the daisy.

"Exactly."

"Alright. would you like it wrapped or anything?"

"No, I'll just take it like that."

"That'll be fifty-two cents please."

I handed over the money and Kristal and I bounded out the door.

"We have to go meet Christina shortly," Kristal reminded me as we neared Christina's parents' store.

Christina was already waiting for us when we got there.

With Kristal on one arm and Christina on the other, we strolled delightedly down Baker Street 'til we neared the Nelson Trading Company. Kristal and Christina wanted to go in.

"You guys go in here," I said, daisy held carefully between two fingers. "I'm going to run over to Robin's place and give him this daisy. I'll be back shortly."

"Okay," they said, and off we all went to our seperate destinations.

Walking down the street on a miserably wet, cold, rainy winter day, I bubbled and smiled at everybody passing.

When I got to Robin's house, which was only a few blocks over and one up, I knocked. Toast, the dog, stood in the hall and stared at me through the window. Shortly Robin came bounding down the stairs in flying leaps, like my energy had preceded me and infected him too.

"Rosie!" He exclaimed when he opened the door. "Come in!"

"Can't stay long," I bubbled, and, holding out the daisy, continued, "Here. A daisy. For you."

He took it, delightfully surprised. "For me?"

"Yep. I decided I hadn't seen you in much too long and so got you a daisy."

"Where'd you get it?"

"Georama."

"A daisy. In the middle of winter."

"Yup."

"Hee. That's great."

Conversation continued briefly before I made my excuses and hurried back to Kristal and Christina.

That was the best part of my early Friday evening.

.

Rosie.

Before&After