Call me crazy, but...
April 03, 2002 - 1:05 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I hate having showers in the morning, right before I go to school.

One, because my little brother always managed to get there before me, uses up all the hot water and leaves all the towels soaking wet and then I get in a rush and get snappy and irritable.

Two, because I don't like the feel.

I don't.

Some people always have showers in the morning, but I hate the feeling of water running down the back of my neck during class, even though I'm careful to wring out my hair, rub it thoroughly with a towel, braid it tightly and wring it out again.

I don't like the feel of my freshly washed hair. I like it the day after, when there's a little oil in the hair, and it's not nearly as frizzy (but with some frizz; none would be too surreal) and it's soft, so soft and smooth and light feeling.

But I don't like it right after the shower. Wirery, wet, stiff, bristly ends.

It's not so bad at all if I shower just before I go to bed, because my hair dries in natural half-curls, where it wants to curl, but doesn't quite have the oompf to do it completely.

I don't like the feel of my skin right after a shower. I want to walk around naked, because I don't like the feel of material against my skin, but I can't really walk around in my underwear in my house, much less naked.

I don't like the way I get very cold and very dry, though I'm careful not to use a harsh, drying soap.

My hands are especially bad. After a shower, unless I built up a little oil on my skin, my hands get very, very cold, even if the sun is out.

Always cold.

I prefer to slip right into bed after having a shower, but I have to have something very soft against my skin or it feels like my skin is being torn to ribbons.

My mother never understands why I don't have showers in the morning, and I don't really want to explain it to her.

I especially don't like that completely scentless smell that comes with right after having a shower. It's unnatural. I don't like it. I like people having at least some sort of smell of their own rather than nasty products that are all so sickeningly sweet.

I like a bit of oil, a bit of warmth, a bit of smell.

Call me crazy, but I think we're all living much to cleanly.

Get dirty.

.

Rosie.

Before&After