The new boy from Brazil.
August 19, 2003 - 8:21 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

So I just met this exchange student, Luiz.

I must say, he's a very cute boy, who's got that I-can't-speak-English-very-well accent going on.

Purr.

But I only look, no touchy.

Plus, I think he's like, sixteen.

Very quiet, very white for a boy from Brazil.

After I met him, David wandered off down the street, leaving me alone in the house with him, so I went to clean my room, and suddenly I look up and he's standing quietly by my doorframe.

"For you," he says, holding a package wrapped in silver celophane. "from Brazeel."

So I take the package and carefully open it. It's a little crushed from transit, but I mean, it's come all the way from Brazil.

What he brought me (never having met me or anything) is a beautiful necklace, bracelet, earring set made of some cut and polished seed, I think, cut crosswise, and various beads of semiprecious stones all strung haphazardly on a waxed and knotted cord, with exotic feathers hanging from the points of the earrings and the necklace.

They're really quite pretty.

It was a bit weird, though, having him watch me open it.

"You like?"

I smile. "Yes, yes. Thank you."

I put them on, because he's still there.

"Y-you like?"

"Yes. I like. They're very pretty. Thanks."

He just smiles shyly and a little nervously and glides off, all ghostly quiet.

When I came downstairs, I could see him through the living room window, sitting silently on the porch, staring out over the smoke strangled valley here.

We really do have a beautiful view.

And he really is a very cute boy.

Tasty.

.

Rosie.

Before&After