An ego boost!
June 03, 2005 - 1:23 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I just had the GREATEST ego boost.

Which is good, because I was feeling kind of frumpy lately.

Anyway, I was downtown, pawning the knives my bro gave me when he moved to England ($40! w00t!), and I was heading over to Janette and Judy's place.

I passed one of the poster columns just as a swarm of mothers and children surged out of a nearby store.

Who was at the poster column? Lucas M----! He's a bit of a local celebrity around here, known for his one man plays.

(I went to see one of his last night, called East. It was amazing. That guy is a freakin' comedic genius, and, admittedly, not hard on the eyes.)

Anyway, he was putting up posters for East, and had paused as the swarm surged by him. He was looking down, grinning at something one of the little boys had said.

Then, as I approached, he looked up.

And got this...look on his face. It's hard to describe.

It almost looked dumb-struck. Eyes wide, mouth open a little bit. Looking for just a wee bit too long for strangers passing in the street.

Then he looked back at his posters--

--and back at me, with the same startled unsurety. I looked away before he did, mostly because I was moving at a pretty brisk clip down the sidewalk and passed him at that point.

It made me grin inside.

Even if it meant nothing, I can pretend it did and use the ego boost. ;)

Boooooootay-dance...

It made me grin all the way to Janette and Judy's house.

Boooooooooootay-dance...

Anyway, I gotta pack for the event this weekend, so I won't be seein' y'all 'til Sunday night. :P

.

Rosie.

Before&After