Lovely pockets...
November 11, 2005 - 9:40 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I just made spanekapita (I know I brutalized that word) pockets. They were pretty tasty, even though I had no feta or dry baker's cheese.

Pretty easy, too:

Take half a roll of filo dough. Thaw. Forever.

Thaw and drain a packet of frozen spinach (or cook fresh, what ever).

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix spinach in a bowl with a crushed clove of garlic, some crumbled or finely cubed cheese of your choice (I used aged white chedder), an egg, and a little bit of olive oil (maybe a tablespoon). This would also be nice with a bit more garlic (but Loren doesn't like it) and a bit of lemon juice. A sprinkle of salt, for sure.

When filo is thawed, use a pastry brush to grease a pan with melted butter or olive oil. Use same fattening agent to brush each square of filo as you lay them down.

Once you have about five layers (I found that was just fine; you may want more or less), place a dollop of spinach filling in the center of your filo, and wrestle with it until you fold it in some conceivable way that it's kind of closed.

The filo will swell a bit in baking, but only up, not so much sideways, so you can get a fair number on a tray.

Bake for about twenty minutes or until lucious and the top is just starting to brown (it will brown from the sides in).

Then pull out of the oven with an intoxified yank (that might just be me) and serve while still warm. Good at room temperature too.

Mmmmmmmm...

Spinachy....

.

Rosie.

PS, I'm falling behind on my NaNoWriMo. Spank me until I catch up. I'm 7000 words behind!!

Before&After