Opinionated about lights
October 21, 2003 - 10:35 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

So I had this big arguement in lighting class yesterday with the other people in my group.

Not a bad arguement, just a fiercely opinionated one.

I'm very picky when it comes to colour.

Our assignment was to light a small section of stage like it was indoors at night.

What we ended up with was an uber-dark blue, verging on purple, diffused, shining from one side, and a pale yellow very dim shining from the other.

They said the blue was a television, and the yellow was the light shining from the kitchen.

Which made no sense.

Not only does that not indicate nighttime, but light shining through a door from the kitchen either be a lot dimmer than they had, or a long rectangle of light on the ground.

And dimmer wouldn't have worked.

I wanted to lighten up the blue, and put in a paler colour (I spend enough of my time wandering around at night, I should know what it looks like on skin). Not by much, just a few shades lighter.

I then wanted to take the pale yellow and maybe gel it with a slightly more golden yellow, though not a darker yellow, then bring the light up five more percent to indicate more of a candlelight in the room. They didn't like the 'split face' look, but I thought it was very appropriate for what we were trying to do, and it gave our model's face a certain eerie depth.

If we had a third light I would have gelled it with a similar pale yellow, or a very cool blue, and shone it from the front at about thirty percent.

It bugged me.

But I'll live. :)

.

Rosie.

Before&After