Me? Nice skin?
October 31, 2003 - 12:04 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I've always been told I have nice skin, although I don't do anything special to it. I don't wash it daily unless it's visibly dirty, though I wash it when I'm in the shower. And only with plain hand soap, whatever happens to be available.

I never thought I was particularely remarkable; lots of people have nice skin.

But I was looking at Karie, my roommate's, skin today, and I thought: "Wow! She has nice skin!"

Then I remembered the pink suitcase of cosmetics in her room, the one with the morrir in the lid.

And then I saw her with her make-up off.

Red, blotchy, blemished, torn to pieces by the chemicals she puts on her face.

I couldn't believe it.

I mean, I have the odd blemish, but never badly, and my skin tends to remain a smooth cream colour, except when I'm excited or working hard or really hot, then I get flushed and my cheekbones light up with a soft pink.

I never use blush. It looks so fake.

I rarely, rarely use coverup, and only if it's like, for grad photos or something and I suddenly have a huge zit.

Plus, coverup would, well, cover up the healthy pink glow I get when I'm working hard.

I always thought other people had nicer skin.

I guess it really is all a mask.

.

Rosie.

Before&After