Change and attitudes.
March 20, 2004 - 2:49 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I don't understand some people. I honestly don't.

So many people have this, "I AIN'T GONNA CHANGE FOR NOBODY! This is who I am, ACCEPT IT!" attitude.

And I was thinking, "Wow. That's kinda stupid."

I mean, maybe I'm a push-over. Maybe I just like to please people.

But when somebody has a problem with the way I act, I listen to what they say and watch myself, and see if they have grounds.

Because, more often than not, they *do*.

And if I agree with them, certainly I'll try to change.

If I don't, I shrug and apologize and remind myself that everyone is entitled to their own opinions.

And you can't cease to change. It's just impossible.

Everybody's changing, all the time.

I know college has changed me.

My patience has gotten longer, my temper milder. I don't put up with as much shit from other people as I used to, but I still try to take it in stride and be bright and polite all around.

I sing more than I used to.

I sing a *lot*.

I may not be good, but I don't care much, because I sing for myself and no one else.

I now buy more cd's and books.

I never used to, because I didn't have the money.

I still don't, but the books and the music keep me grounded and connected to humanity.

Or disconnected, I'm not sure.

And I'm still sensible about it (I only buy if it's something I *really* want and the price is right).

I've become quieter and louder.

Louder amongst good friends.

Quieter else-where.

I've developed a reputation for harmless but bizarre behaivior, weird dress, but a good attitude and good work ethics.

At least, that's what I get by other people's responses to me.

I've developed the title of 'first year painter'.

I've become content with life, though still ever restless.

I want to see the world before I die, and I thoroughly intent to.

.

Rosie.

Before&After