Oh happy days
April 06, 2004 - 4:46 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

It's possible for me to have a completely horrible day, and still feel like my heart is going to burst from my chest with joy.

Or something.

I was walking to class this morning, miserable, because I had to get up earlier than I should have because I needed to do some lighting maintenance, and I stepped outside.

It was raining last night, and things are moist still.

Not wet. Everything's dried off. But it's moist.

What a disgusting word.

Moist.

And I stepped outside, and the wind whipped around me, ghostly fingers plucking at my hair and clothes and running up my back, and I just grinned.

It's that spring smell on the air, the smell of life and...moistness.

The wind was cool, but not cold. Refreshing, but not goosebump enducing. The sun was wrapped in layers of clouds (I love days like that; it means I don't have to shadow jump to avoid direct sunlight).

~

So coming back from class, I staggered in under a load of laundrey (I was doing it in the washer and dryer in the shop, because I never have any other time to do it).

I yanked out my keys, shoved the right one into my bedroom door lock, and shouldered the door open.

I left the window open this morning to give my room a bit of an air out, and the curtains were partway open and a band of sunlight was coming in.

A while ago I decided I needed more decoration and hung up eleven cut glass prisms by threads in front of my window.

The sunlight streamed through half a dozen of these prisms, sending hundreds of rainbows hurtling through my otherwise greyish room, the wind making them dance.

Wow.

I had a lousy, dragged out day.

And still I'm content with my lot.

.

Rosie.

PS, (A fresh wind in spring in Red Deer is phenominal, because this damned place smells like SHIT half the time. I kid you not. Poo, poo, everywhere. That's why I usually stay inside.)

Before&After