"New" music
December 13, 2004 - 7:33 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I went downtown today, and browsed the pawn shops for music. It's been a long time since I had any new ("new") music, so I took a look at the cheap bins.

I ended up buying four cd's for, like, five dollars.

I couldn't really afford it, but I was feeling miserable and planned to eat at the coffee shop (on my tab! Woot!) so I wouldn't be spending any more money.

Let's see. I bought a copy of Matchbox Twenty's 'Mad Season'. It was kind of scratched, but not so bad that I don't think it'll work.

I bought Jacksoul's 'Sleepless', some cd by Wide Mouth Mason, and Amanda Marshall's 'Tuesday's Child'.

I'm not sure if I'll like them, but I haven't *not* liked any of the songs from those albums that I've heard so far.

Promising.

I was very tempted to buy an album by Ru Paul, but I didn't. I couldn't quite justify it.

When I was in City Pawn, some old guy was hitting on my and offered me a ride home, but I firmly declined.

After he left, the woman at the counter apologized to me and the man (her husband? A co-owner, at least, I think) said he was going to ask the guy to leave if he said just one word more to me.

I ended up talking to both of them for a while and having a good laugh.

The guy is small and wirery and reminds me of the photographer at the school here. We talked about attitudes of people in the city, and the fear and greed that drives them (he was apparently from the country and was far more used to being friendly).

I mentioned where I was from and he laughed, saying he visited a friend who'd moved there three years ago and took a walk down the mainstreet and stopped, like, fifty times to say hello to people.

"I told him he should run for mayor," he said with a laugh. "But it told me that's pretty normal, for the area."

"Yeah," I laughed, relating. "When ever you're going somewhere you have to leave at least half an hour because you'll stop to say hello to everyone on the street. Heck, when I left, I had to go around to all the shops and restaurants I frequented to tell them I was leaving, or they would've worried."

He just laughed. I think he'd fit in back home.

It was good. I bought the last three disks from there. They don't have cases (well, not the ones that should go with the disks, just blank ones), which was why they were so cheap.

I was tempted by one or two that were in the $3 case, but I didn't bite.

Couldn't justify it.

Ah well.

Life is alright.

I'm broke and I have no food, but life is alright.

I'm not dead yet, by gods.

.

Rosie.

Before&After