'Happy Spending'
July 31, 2005 - 12:07 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

One day, while talking with Allison the costumer in the costume room, the topic of 'happy spending' was brought up. I don't remember the technical term.

She described it as: "The thing you buy to make yourself happy, but doesn't otherwise have a lot of purpose."

She mentioned one lady she read about always bought white sweaters to make herself feel better, but hardly ever wore them.

I thought and thought and tried to figure out what I buy that's useless that makes me feel better.

I realized a couple days ago, though, that it's jewelry.

I love jewelry. On the other hand, I hardly ever wear it. But I love it. I love buying it, I love shopping for it. I love finding great deals on it.

I'm not entirely stupid buying jewelry. I don't buy things that I can't afford, or would actually never wear (I do wear jewelry sometimes, on special occasions, but not regularely), but I like buying jewelry when I'm unhappy.

Right now, I'm surfing Ebay for old rhinestone jewelry (some of my favorite).

.

Rosie.

PS, I still don't know where I'm going to live, and I cried myself to sleep last night. Fortunately, I cried myself to sleep on top of Loren, who stroked my hair until I fell asleep.

Before&After