My opinion on garb pictures
July 26, 2006 - 10:16 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I watch a couple people on DeviantArt who do mostly period dresses (Victorian, Elizabethan, a lot of Renn Faire dresses), and it always kind of strikes me as funny.

Why, you ask?

Well, let me tell you.

The dresses never look....right.

Do you know what I mean?

Like they don't fit quite right, or the people aren't entirely comfortable in them.

I don't know how to explain it more than that.

A lot of the time people are defiant in their dresses, or proud (I don't blame them), or just plain uncomfortable.

Or they're just plain showing off (don't blame them, either).

But...I don't know.

The dresses still don't look...right.

"Now Rosie!" I hear you say. "Of course they're not going to look 'right'! They're wearing dresses hundreds of years out of style!"

Well DUH.

But I bring up another point:

Sometimes, in the SCA, I see people who look so right in their outfits.

Thinking of this one woman I saw at a May Crown once, who I stopped and talked to because her dress was similar to mine (though way better made).

She was 14th century, I think, low class. She wore a linen underdress, and an amazing green wool overdress, a narrow belt and a linen veil, but what struck me the most was the rosary tucked into her belt.

Why? I don't know. It seemed appropriate, and not something I usually saw around events.

I kind of doubt she was actually that religious, but it was appropriate for her persona.

And another woman who shows up in Appledore events pretty regularely, who is of a little later period (15th century, I think).

She wears a linen underdress and a linen overdress, and this most amazing short hood with winged sides (which is entirely period, I know). The hood is red on the outside and yellow on the inside, and I Want One.

She looks perfectly comfortable in her garb.

Okay, I just checked a picture I have of her, and she must have two hoods, because the one in the picture is black on the outside and maroon on the inside (and she's wearing a fantastic red linen dress).

What made me think of this was I was just looking at a nice recreation of a Victorian dress (not perfect; the material was definately not period, but it was passable anyway). Anyway, the girl wearing the dress was wearing heavy modern make-up, and had a tight ponytail, and looked for all the world like she was a child playing dress up.

Then again, maybe that's all she was. Maybe I should stop being so judgemental.

Naaah.

I have to have some standards for myself, providing I don't try to force them on other people.

Hoorah!

.

Rosemart the Destroyer.

Before&After