Lebonese?
April 22, 2007 - 3:52 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

So, went to the library today. (Holy crap fines! I should really bring back my books on time.)

Riding down in the elevator. The only other person in the elevator was the middle eastern (is that the politically correct term? I don't know what exact country he was from) security guard.

"Excuse me," he says after a moment. "Are you from Lebanon?" His English is pretty good, though a bit choppy and thickly accented.

"No," I say, startled.

"Oh, you're from here?"

"Yes. Well, from BC." I figured I should specify. Calgary smells today, and I don't want to be from here.

"Ah," he says, gesturing to his face, "I just thought, your looks..."

I laugh a little, then DING! Doors open, and I exit.

I find my books alright, a couple movies for later, and check them out (paying a hefty amount to cover my fines).

As I walk by the security desk, the security guard says: "You have an incredible...uh, outlook."

I think he meant to compliment my looks, and just couldn't find the word.

"Thank you," I say, a little blushy.

It gives me hope that somewhere, to someone, I am the perfection of beauty.

Let's be real, folks. I'm not ugly. I think I'm pretty average. But I have very strong facial features, and a big nose. They're not exactly the north american definition of beauty.

What ever.

Maybe in Lebanon I am perfectly beautiful.

I like to think I am.

(That might explain why I turn a lot of middle eastern heads, and the security guards in my building go silent and watch me when I go by.)

.

Rosie.

Before&After