Stoopid people
June 22, 2007 - 11:40 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Life is still being damned good.

Nothing particularly interesting to report.

I did quite well at archery tonight. One of my rounds I got two of my three arrows in the red circle (second smallest) and one in the yellow (smallest).

Then, of course, I did a half dozen rounds where my arrows went totally wild.

Oh, god. There was this new kid.

Kind of absent in the eyes, a little preppy. Reminded me of my little brother a bit, but way stupider.

He shot his first round (he'd never shot before, or at least not in a long time). He did alright for first shot; hit the bale twice, and one flew right over.

We all went to pull our arrows, and he grabbed one of his arrows with both hands and tried yanking it out, bending the shaft in the process.

I saw, and winced internally.

"Don't do that," I said, as I was pulling my arrows (I was shooting beside him). "Because you'll--" SNAP! "...do exactly that."

He'd snapped the shaft right in the middle. I was going to say he would bend the shaft, but he did worse.

SERIOUSLY.

Intelligence test: If you're doing something you're not familiar with, do you:

1.) Do it your own way.

2.) Look around to see how other people are doing it.

If you chose 2, you're more intelligent than this kid.

"Oh, uh," he mumbled, staring at the half-shaft still stuck in the bale.

"Do it like this," I said, putting my palm flat on the bale, the shaft in the L of my thumb and finger, and grabbed the shaft as close to the bale as I could, pulling straight out with a twist.

"Uh," he mumbled, hands fumbling on the shaft. He gave it a couple yanks, but the shaft didn't budge.

"Here," I said, handing him my arrows. "Hold these."

I reached over him, and did exactly what I'd done on my own arrows, and the half-shaft slid out of the bale with ease.

I handed him the shaft, and took my arrows back.

And then didn't talk to him again for the rest of the night for fear of giving in to my desire to throttle him.

*sigh*

Really, I can deal with a lot of people, except people who aren't sensible.

Stoopid people.

.

Rosie.

Before&After