Too many props
March 07, 2008 - 12:23 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I spent all my non-show time today at work building crazy props for the next show.

One of the props is a box in which a man's head is supposed to sit. It's a replica of another prop from a previous show, but of course, no one has the drawings anymore.

I tried to built it like it looks in the archival photos, and according to what the directors want, but it didn't work.

So I refrained from screaming and throwing power tools, and instead worked on other props.

Eleven hours in the theatre later, I have one pit bull dog mask drying on the table, two fake Lone Star beer bottles, a whistle on a rope, file cards and lists of rejected commandments, twelve fake muffins curing in the back room, and I don't remember what all else. That includes running two shows today and doing two loads of laundry (which makes me worry...did I put the laundry in the dryer?).

I feel like I should have gotten more done, but I still barely took the time to eat. I know at least one of the mugs in the green room has a handle covered in glue because I was working and drinking soup out of it at the same time.

I hope the mask holds together. I only did two laters of j-cloth, and then coated it in about six layers of kleenex (to get the smooth texture).

*crosses fingers*

Worst comes to worst, I put it back on the mold, and do another couple layers of j-cloth, and some more kleenex.

I totally ruined the plasticine of the mold, though. I coated it in Murphy's oil soap, to keep the glue from sticking to the plasticine. I hope it works. I didn't have any Vaseline, and I saw a video once where they used oil soap as an anti-bonding agent.

We'll see tomorrow.

Either my next post will be a happy one, or a screamy one.

Stay tuned.

.

Rosemart.

Before&After