That is the Big Show
July 02, 2009 - 10:43 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

We preview the Grandstand show tonight.

I'm hurting all over. My feet feel flat, despite the hot soak with Epsom salts I gave them last night.

My hips, my knees, they hurt. Although I am drinking plenty of water, my joints feel dry and creaky, like there's no lubricating blood (I blame my period).

Yesterday it rained. No, it did not just rain, it poured. We were squeegeeing off the stage, pushing waves and waves of water off it.

It didn't help much. As fast as we could squeegee, the rain would just swamp the stage behind us.

Most of the acts didn't go on yesterday, because of the rain.

We have three silk acts (the acrobats that use the long piece of hanging silk to climb and twist up in and fly around in).

Two of them are from Cirque, but one of them, a husband and wife team, is from Russia (I believe).

Understandably, the two Cirque acts simply walked to their spikes, clipped on their silks to the fly points, and let the silks fly without them. It wasn't raining, per se, at that point, but it was spitting enough and wet enough that it was potentially dangerous.

The Russian duo, though. Well, I was hiding behind the big spiral staircase at that point, and I hear:

"Alright. Cue Tominovs. And they'll just walk out and--oh! They're going! They're going to do their routine!"

There was enough fog from the fog machines that I could watch most of the routine without being seen from the audience.

The silks were soaked. They had feathered ends that, as the husband went up, sprayed great arcs of water over the stage.

He only wears a pair of spandex pants (mmmmm...), and even from my position I could tell his body was soaking wet. Every time he flipped his head in his act, his hair would spray water.

The scary part, though, was the finale of their act (which is one of the coolest silk tricks I've seen).

He wound his arms in the silks to just above the elbows, then leaned way forward.

His wife stepped up on his back, and they took off like that, him holding his body in a Superman post, and her standing upright on his back.

But this time, her feet were so wet and his back was so wet that when she went to climb on, she slipped right off just as the silks were climbing higher.

Fortunately it was right at the beginning, so she landed on her feet no problem and he just went up without her, but the potential was still scary.

Anyway.

I am very sore and I think I need some breakfasts.

Be well, readers. Be well.

.

Rosie.

Before&After