Nothing and nothing and nothing
July 06, 2009 - 2:09 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I could not focus, crouched behind the massive scenery, half listening to the technobabble on my headset.

One of the other technicians was watching me and I could feel him watching me.

He creeps me out, so I ignored him, pretending I was listening to my headset, but really daydreaming.

~

The massive oak worktable was smooth as satin against the back of my legs, every edge perfectly rounded, stained with a warm oil finish.

He'd showed it to me first, his work bench. He ran his hands over the surface and down the legs, telling me about how he's cut each notch by hand, fitting the massive pieces together. I could tell he was proud of it, though he kind of brushed it off. He pushed me against it then, sliding my shirt over my head, undoing the button on my pants and running his hands down my legs.

Cold, watery sunlight seeped in through the window and flooded across my back, making the pale flesh glow in the unlit shop.

His nostrils twitched and his eyes were hooded with lust.

"Scoot up on the edge," he said, and it wasn't a suggestion.

~

"I'll call you as soon as I can after the event," G promised.

I did not believe him.

He never called.

~

"Rosie." I heard my name. "Rosie!" I forced my eyes to focus on the stage again. Trish was waving her hand in front of my face.

"Earth to Rosie!" she said, grinning.

I grinned back, with more feeling than I'd intended.

~

It was over too soon, a time limit roping in our fun.

I leaned on his beautiful work bench, fine sawdust dusting my hands, and tried to catch my breath. My back started to sting from the scratch marks.

"Wow," he said, his hands light upon my body.

"I told you I marked up nicely," I said, smiling. He touched the skin he'd clawed mere moments before.

"You must mark on command," he said, faintly wondrous. "Just as you said that, eight perfect red stripes rose on your back."

I grinned, and hid it with my hair.

~

I am doing nothing with my life right now.

And I kind of like it.

And I also kind of hate myself for it.

.

Rosie.

Before&After