A Parental Visit
July 12, 2009 - 9:46 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

My parents are here.

They came yesterday, and phoned me while they were on the way out of town, to let me know roughly when they'd be here.

Unfortunately, they were arriving after I'd already gone to work, so I left a key outside for them.

So I spent most of the day cleaning, but then decided to go to this really awesome barbeque at the last moment, so I called them to let them know I'd left sheets and blankets for them by the couch.

No answer.

I called about every hour until I was at work, and then every ten minutes until I had to turn off my phone because we were beginning.

Nothing.

The phone had service, and was turned on, because it rang, but my father doesn't have voicemail, so I couldn't even leave that.

Anyway, after work I tried again, with no luck.

When I got home, their car was parked out front of my house, and they were asleep on the floor.

I almost woke them up and had a little yelling fit about how they should have called me when they got here (there's lots of vicious suicidal deer between here and BC).

But I didn't. I just went to bed.

Then my dad woke me up and was like: "How do we get out of the house?"

And I was: "Open the door?"

"You need a key."

I'd forgotten you needed a key to lock it from the inside, and I'd taken it to put outside.

"Where's the key I left for you guys?"

"Under the flower pot."

"Well, that was a bit silly, wasn't it."

Then my mother pops in. "John! Let her sleep! We'll go out front door."

"Oh. Okay."

Me: "Nnnnggh..."

So I think they must be coming back, because they left their stuff here.

Who knows, with my parents. Bah.

.

Rosie.

PS, One more show! One more...

Before&After