Weird dreams and alginate
September 13, 2012 - 4:09 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I dreamt last night.

I was back in the city I just moved from. I don't remember how it got started, but the German ladies from the German specialty store had us all captive.

They were clearing out a large field behind their house, digging it down about four feet, and were planning to fill it with fast setting red alginate, and us.

Half of the people got to run the machines clearing out the pit. The other half had to stand in the pit and wait.

When it was full, and the alginate was setting, the German ladies were going to come in and try to kill us.

I wasn't afraid, really. I was one of the people in the pit, waiting. We weren't allowed weapons, but I still wasn't that afraid.

I remember standing by the edge of the pit, by back against the dirt wall. Behind me there was a piece of 2x4, almost as tall as I was. I was blocking it perfectly with my body, and hoping nobody noticed.

Someone came over to talk to me and I shifted. The piece of wood slipped and banged against something on the ground.

"Rosie--" he said.

"Please," I breathed. "Just leave me this little bit of hope."

He looked at me sideways, smiled a tiny bit and gave a fraction of a nod, then moved away without saying anything more.

I found a hammer on the ground, amidst the construction debris. I was sure someone would notice it, but I slipped it into the hammer loop on my pants anyway. If it was seen, I could pretend I hadn't remembered it was there.

We were all there, waiting. Standing in the bare earth pit, strewn here and there with old bits of construction, waiting for the alginate to pour in. Waiting for it to set up around our legs and chests, immobalizing them while the German ladies laid to.

But honestly, I wasn't that afraid.

And then I woke up and was seriously weirded out.

.

Rosie.

Before&After