A seduction gone wrong
March 18, 2021 - 10:03 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I have a crush on him the moment I see him. I don't know what it was. He had only said hello. I couldn't see any of his body: the building we were working in had shoddy heat, so everyone was layered in sweaters and toques and mittens. But something about him, the soft square body, the quiet pale eyes, the way he looked at everything and really LOOKED.

"Who are you?" I ask, with unexpected heat. He tells me his name. After he leaves, my coworker grins at me and sucks on her vape.

"You have good taste," she says, blowing out a thick cloud of cotton candy smoke.

~

I tried to flirt with him, in that stiff embarrassed way you flirt with someone you actually like. It didn't work too well.

But I had a plan.

The wrap party was coming. Time to take off all the sweaters and put on the party dresses.

And I did. I took extra care. I wore red lipstick. I wore my jade green wiggle dress with the gold embroidery and, most importantly, the diamond window that perfectly framed my cleavage.

He wore...a wedding ring.

A WEDDING RING?!

Fuck.

Well, most of the carpenters take off their rings to work, so I can be finitely annoyed. (If you have a strong stomach and a strong curiosity, google 'degloving', and you'll see why they take off their rings.)

I notice it while we're talking. He's flirting, just a little bit. He knows I am. I can't help it. Look at me. Look at HIM. My god.

Just before he takes his leave, he stops me.

"Nice dress," he says, with a ghost of a smile.

Damned straight.

Goddammit. This was supposed to be a seduction!

~

To be continued...

Before&After