The Accident
January 01, 2002 - 2:50 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

What an interesting night.

I just got up twenty minutes ago, much to my dismay. My mother was being rather inconsiderate and evil and dragged me out of bed, not taking in to account I'd hardly gotten any sleep, and was dead tired, because I'd gone to sleep at 7:30 this morning.

Ba humbug.

That's what I say.

Bah humbug.

But anyway, last night started off...interesting.

Interesting is a little bit of an unappropriate word, considering...well...it's difficult to write, really. But to put it bluntly:

Van, stationwagon, illegally parked car, blocked view, busy intersection, thought it was clear, vroom, CRUNCH!

Yes, that's right. Last night I was in my first car crash.

It wasn't that bad, really. No one was seriously injured, though Avairy got a bit of a side-to-side whiplash. It was the smallest degree of whiplash, but whiplash nonetheless.

Selina, the girl driving the car, was pretty upset, which was scary because Selina /never/ gets upset. Then again, I get more upset during a fight with my mother than she did over crashing her parents $40000 van, and into a girl we know, no less. She cried, though. Not all out weeping, but her eyes were red and watery, and she was quieter than usual.

It was really eerie, though. You know, surreal.

I remember thinking a fraction of a second before we t-boned the stationwagon: "Hm. We're going to crash."

I was sitting in the back seat, which, fortunately enough, was close enough to the pivot point that I was shaken but unhurt (though my cookies, thankfully with a plastic bag wrapped around the whole plate, slid off my lap).

Avairy, thankfully, had...oh, what was it called...it was some anti-shock stuff in her pocket, which she had miraculously brought along and which hadn't gotten broken. So she 'anti-shocked' everyone, including Lara (the girl in the stationwagon).

It was strange, though. It was all to the soundtrack of opera, which I had been listening to during the crash, and never turned off.

The police arrived, and everyone looked stressed out.

And I don't like stressed out people.

I remembered the plate of cookies I had in the van, and promptly went and got them.

The cops didn't want my cookies, but they laughed when I offered.

*sniff* My gingerbread really isn't all /that/ bad.

Some of the other people took some gingerbread or Italian shortbread (I'd lost most of that in the fall, though). Most of them just laughed.

It certainly relived the tension, that's for sure.

I mean, there still was tension, but when people laugh, it's not so bad.

Therefor, I made people laugh.

I licked Selina, and she laughed, and wasn't quite as unreasonably stressed.

Her parents weren't mad at all. Apparently her father was on the verge of laughter.

They're a very well off family, so I doubt it was hysterical laughter.

I havn't told my parents yet. I don't think it will. My mother will want to meddle and phone people and give condolences and crap like that, and just dredge up the feelings that they're all trying to surpress.

We decided to go to the emergancy room to get Avairy's neck looked at.

I hate hospitals.

Fortunately I tuned everything out with my earphones and embroidery.

Oh, Laura and Michelle came to pick us up; they were the ones who took us to the hospital.

Michelle was more upset than I was. She was crying and crying and all that.

It really was nothing to cry about.

Ah well.

The rest of the night was interesting. Had jello shooters. Mmmm...And made masks, and got plaster everywhere, and ate most of the cookies I'd brought, went over to Jenn's house and watched The Princess Diaries and drank champagne and wine (which I have now sitting in my closet...I don't even like red wine...though it's a really pretty colour...) and root beer! Yay for root beer!

It was nice.

Went over to Subway. Lots of hard feelings between Laura and a bunch of the guys there. And Avairy.

Those parts were unpleasant but I tried to seperate myself from that.

I wanted to sneak a kiss from Mike, but never got a chance. I should have just pulled him into the fridge or something. That would have been interesting. ;)

And a brief conversation came up at one point between Mike, Laura and I while we were cleaing the front (Mike and Rye had a whole army of drones, namely me, Tully, Laura, Knoll, and I think there was one more...to help them clean up the place) that went something like this:

Laura: Well, since I have you both in the room, I might as well ask. Are you two officially a couple, or just...you know...friends?

Mike: ...well...(actually, I don't remember what he said at this point, I was cleaning the sandwich counter)

Laura: I mean, I'm sick of referring to you guys as 'Mike and Rosie'. When can I start referring to you guys as a couple? Any time soon?

Mike: Maybe, kinda, sorta, soon, possibly...yes...

Me (casting glance and grin 'round at Mike): Hopefully.

Laura (why a slightly slyly amused glance at me): Alright. Just checking.

And then later, me and Laura:

Laura: So you two /will/ be officially going out at some point...but you're just taking your bloody time at it?

Me: Ex/actly/.

Yes, it's been an interesting night.

And with that, I go.

Adieu, my dears, 'til we meet again.

.

Rosie.

Before&After