It was nice waltzing with him.
March 14, 2002 - 7:57 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

It's was lovely today.

See, my little brother has taken a fancy to dancing.

Not the usual dance that every teenage boy seems to do, but ballroom dancing.

And he's good at it. He's got a good dance frame, and he's a good leader (and he /hates/ it when the girls try to lead).

So he downloaded this beautiful old waltz called something like The Last Waltz. Pretty old thing with a singer who has one of those old, full, romantic voices. Put it on, played it all over the house.

So my mother started trying to teach him how to waltz, and he picked it up really, /really/ fast. I think he knew how already, but was just shakey.

So my dad pulled me off the couch and we started (trying) to waltz. We know two different styles and he isn't exactly the best with his feet, but it all came off really nicely.

It really was a pretty scene. We cleared out the main floor space in the livingroom and waltzed around it.

Our house is from 1895 or so, so it's all old styled, and my mother has kept it that way with lots of long curling velvet couches with the carved wooden arms and carved wooden coffee tables with little lace doilies on top.

And she'd just made gingerbread, so the smell of cooking and dust and old was in the air as the strains of scratchy waltz music sifted through the speakers.

It was really fun.

I havn't been in such close proximity with my father in ages and ages and /ages/. Years, even. Twice he gave me nervous hugs, right before he was going somewhere for a long time.

That's about it.

It was nice waltzing with him.

.

Rosie.

Before&After