The crazy man on Baker Street.
March 24, 2002 - 1:35 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

There's this yound crazy man downtown who's hair always sticks straight up and he walks around leaning really far forwards with his eyes open really wide, talking to anyone who'll listen.

He sat down next to me once in a coffee shop and started talking to me and I thought I knew him. I realized after a few minutes I didn't, but he sure seemed to know me. Or think he did.

He's tried to talk to me a few times after that, along with everyone else, but I've always pretended I don't hear him and quickly turn a corner somewhere.

Once I saw him in Reo's Videos. I wanted a musical, and the musical section is right next to the science fiction section, which in turn encloses the wrestling/sports section, and the crazy man was there and he was walking up and down the store, from front to back, talking really loudly to no one about sports and how he wanted to see sports.

I was actually quite frightened. I grabbed The Pirates of Penzance as quick as I could and high-tailed it out of there.

I saw him today, too, while I was looking at cheap flight prices to Las Vegas, and I thought I heard him call to me, so I turned and walked quickly up the hill (which was where I was going anyway).

I was half frightened he was going to chase me down and grab me and start yelling things about why I didn't say hi back to him.

He frightens me.

I think he's harmless, but I'm not sure. He still scares me so I still avoid him when I can.

Maybe I'll be like that one day.

Before&After