The Day the Catipillar Died
April 22, 2002 - 12:14 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I feel so terrible.

I accidentily killed a catipillar yesterday, and I didn't mean to.

I was leaning over to pull some grass out from beside a rock in the strawberry patch, and I glanced at the rock, didn't see anything, so put my hand down on the edge to lean.

There was a sickening crunching squish and I imediately pulled my unhurt hand up, but the poor catipillar was done for.

And I feel really bad about it. I mean, the catipillar didn't do anything to me.

I suppose I can write it off as an accident, but it still doesn't keep me from feeling bad.

The catipillar didn't deserve it.

I try and make it my rule that I never hurt anything unless it tries to hurt me first. I really try and live by that rule to the point where I won't kill spiders unless they jump at me, or ants unless they bite me (and even then I usually just brush them off), or bees unless they sting me (and I still don't like killing them regardless).

I really don't like killing things.

Even fish.

And the catipilllar wasn't hurting anyone. Not me. Not anyone.

And it died. Because of me.

And I feel bad about it.

.

Rosie.

Before&After