Napppy times...
May 06, 2002 - 12:07 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

It snowed today! SNOWED!

Big fat snowflakes assulting the poor little flowers. Poor things.

The snow line is below Pulpit Rock at the moment. It's melting already, but it was neat to see the mountains all covered in snow in May. Like, really covered. The snow line went nearly down to the very bottom of the mountain.

I got up at 8:15am today. As opposed to my usual 8:00am. This means I was running fifteen minutes late. Somehow, I'm not quite sure how, I managed to get dressed, make my lunch and pack my bag in seven minutes and still just manage to catch the bus.

I'm so proud of myself.

Now I'm wearing three layers, because I didn't take my jacket today, and I'm very warm. Not uncomfortably warm, but just about. I'm sleepily warm. I'm full and warm and sleepy, and I want to just lay in bed and think about nothing and revel in warmth, but I can't, 'cause I'm at school.

Dammit.

I've got a t-shirt (which I got at the Cornelia De Langue Syndrome Conferance last June; it has big yellow suns on it), then my grey fleece, then my giant rainbow sweater over top. And my wooly rich red skirt, and blue socks. I'm just a whole rainbow today. A very warm rainbow that wants to go to sleep.

English class is next. I think I'll be able to sleep some in English class. I'll prop up a book to make it look like I'm reading and nod off. Mr. Hamilton doesn't mind if I ignore his lessons, so long as I'm reading.

Mr. Hamilton says I'm one of his star pupils and always picks on me when he's explaining grammar and vocabulary. Unfortunately I'm not very good at putting my thoughts into words on the spot and can rarely answer him. Still, my written work, when I have some time to prepare it, is 'outstanding' and 'superior'.

Well, I'm pleased, but I musn't get a swelled head. That wouldn't do. It's not good to believe everything you hear, especially about yourself.

I hope we start on creative writing today. We had to write an essay about the ways the oligarchy government in the book '1984' stayed in power and manipulated people. I finished the book three days early, and so generally excused myself to go work on my essay while everyone else was reading. This lead to me finishing it and handing it in on Friday rather than today, when it was due.

Go fig.

I like Mr. Hamilton, and therefor try harder to please him in his class. I think I get a bit cocky, which isn't good. I'll stop sounding like a know-it-all, though I really don't voice my opinions about things very much. At least, not in class. I prefer to listen.

'To listen is far better than to speak.'

Yeah, yeah, I know.

'Beware the man who speaks only in proverbs for he has no thoughts of his own.'

I particularely like that one. I use it sometimes if people keep throwing proverbs at me. Bah. People need to think for themselves now-a-days...

What am I talking about?! Me! The soaker of others opinions, the user of strangers thoughts. I should be the one thinking for herself, and not telling other people to.

Practice what I preach.

There I go again.

And here I go, 'cause I'm tired and I think I'll go to sleep on the English room's couch. So long as the boys aren't in there playing poker again today.

Good night.

.

Rosie.

Before&After