Design or perform: necessary or unnecessary
May 21, 2002 - 11:56 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I must call the Capitol Theatre today to inquire about that designing job.

I've got a problem, though.

I really want to be in the show, I want to dance, sing, perform.

But I want to design, to create, to do things with my hands, to be important. Needed. If I were in it I would not be absoloutely necessary, I could be cut and the play would still go on.

But if I were designer, I would be necessary. I like feeling necessary.

If I did design, I'd get paid. If I was in it, I'd have to pay. And I'm broke. But I so desperately want to be in it.

What if I did both, though?

That's what I really want to do. It would be the most beneficial, even if I would have no free time.

I don't care about time. I like having things to do, or I slide into a sloth like state and don't do anything at all.

Plus, it's something I'm passionate about, so I'd probably be working from 9am to midnight every day. That would kill me pretty quick, but on the other hand that's what weekend are for: catching up on sleep.

I'd like to do both.

I'll have to ask Margaret about it, though.

That is, providing I actually get the designer position. She seemed to want me to apply.

We'll see.

I have to go down after school today and show them some of my work.

Let's see...I'll need something of everything...

I'll bring:

My draft of the tree archway (which also needs finishing).

One of my dragon costumes that I designed and built. One of the dragon masks, probably the one with the peacock feathers (as opposed to the old gold one).

Pictures of the angel wings I designed and built.

Pictures of the various boxes I painted for prizes at SCA things.

Pictures of the favours I've sewn.

The skirt of my grad dress on the farthingale and the hoop skirt.

...I think that's all.

Maybe some of my clay work.

We'll see.

Anyway, now I should go phone Margaret and make sure it's okay I stop by today.

Yes, that's what I'll do.

Ta, people. Wish me luck.

.

Rosie.

Before&After