Bare feet, bus, and the Best Soup in the World.
May 24, 2002 - 7:31 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Man, this morning I woke up late, had tons to do, ended up wearing a tight skirt (which of course must always be accompanied by some sort of heeled shoe), and I ended up missing the bus at my usual stop.

What did this lead to?

Me running, barefoot, down one hundred and twenty one stairs (concrete stairs, mind you, in rather bad repair).

It hurt.

But on the bright side, I caught the bus. ;)

I'm eating dinner right now, taking a break from sewing.

God I love this soup.

I make it myself.

First, take a good sized piece of broccili (did I spell that right? I doubt it) and chop off the florets. Stick 'em in a pot to steam along with one good sized potato. For speedy cooking chop up the potato into cubes. You may have to put the potato on a little before the broccili.

Second, take about a tablespoon or so of butter, melt it in the bottom of a small pot.

Chop up a tiny onion (or about half of a small onion) into rings, then chop the rings in half. Through them in the pot. Don't brown them! Just soften them.

Chop up a teaspoon to tablespoon of fresh oregano (dried, you can do it, but fresh is best), depending on your tastes. Through that in, too.

Spoon about three heaping spoonfuls of white (emphasis on 'white'! Brown is possible, but the bran isn't very good when you're trying to thicken it and gives the soup an unappealing off-white quality) flour and mix with the butter.

Turn of element. (I tend to burn it if I leave the element on.)

Mix in milk slowly, as much as you need (if you put too much in, though, it will drown out the onion and oregano, so add as much as your tastes will allow), mixing thoroughly with the flour. This is important because otherwise you'll get lumpy soup. Trust me. It's disgusting. I did it once by accident.

If you're slow like me, the vegetables you're steaming should be done and take them out and throw them. I like my potato peeled, personally, but it depends on what you like.

Shake it to the left, shake it to the right, and turn it all about.

Boil the mess.

Vigerously.

Let it cool slightly (it gets thicker and creamier that way) and inhale while sewing your own grad dress.

Yes, the sewing part is manditory. ;)

If you want meat in it, it's good with tinned salmon/tuna/what-ever-kind-of-fish-you-have-lying-about. Sounds gross, I know, but it's good. For one person half a tin is plenty.

It's really good.

Currently it's my favourite soup.

*drool*

I'm going to get some more.

Toodles, mes amies!

.

Rosie.

Before&After