The ache of acting
October 09, 2003 - 12:57 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Agony.

This not being able to act, not being allowed to act, it's absoloute torture.

To watch the plays, to watch the actors, to study the technique and the movement and the voice, and not being able to use it is inhuman torture.

I want to act so badly it makes me want to cry.

When I sing, I put my heart in it.

I may have a pretty plain voice, but I carry a tune, and I feel it.

Oh, I feel it.

I'm a character actor, I'm told.

I don't think I'll ever play the young lover.

My heart is too much in the absurd.

But I try.

Oh, gods, how I try.

It's a passion, but it's also a business. No matter what any artist may tell you, you cannot live on passion alone.

But oh, the aching! There's a heaviness in my heart when I go to productions.

When I hear about productions.

When I learn about auditions.

Oh god, it makes me want to drop to my knees and weep.

.

Rosie.

Before&After