A good weekend
January 09, 2005 - 6:11 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I had a really fun weekend.

I spent Friday night watching Emma on tv (I'm a big Jane Austen fan, and I thought the movie was really well cast, just ignoring the fact that Gwenith Paltrow was in it; I'm not a big fan of hers), and drawing.

I just finished some stuff I'd been working on, detailed some other things, and played with my new pen.

I really shouldn't have bought new pens. I bought two.

I'm such a paper whore.

I love good paper.

I refuse to work on crappy paper anymore. Non-drawers wouldn't really understand, I don't think so.

There's something about a fine piece of paper, that doesn't bleed your inks and kisses the tip of your pencils.

Oh, with a good weight, that recieves your eraser and erases nicely, without horrible black permenant marks...

I'm definately a paper whore.

And a pen whore.

Oh, for a fine set of pens...The thought makes me quiver with delight. A nice set, permenant, with felt tips (ball tips get stuck) or brush tips, thick and black, that leaves sharp lines with no bleeding...

A nice .4 tip, or a .1, or even a .7.

Aaaaah...

The two pens I bought, I bought a fine black one with a nice sharp line. Not the usual brand I buy, but there were no more .1's in my brand and I don't like the brown pens. They don't feel right in my hand.

I was looking around the art store just idly, and encountered these felt pens which I'd seen before but never really looked at.

A thick (by my standards) felt tip at one end (probably close to a .8 or .9 tip), and a *brush* tip at the other!

I couldn't resist. I really couldn't. I tried, and I couldn't.

So I bought my .1 and the brush tip pen and almost creamed my pants right there and then.

I picked up some coloured pencils from Wal-mart yesterday. They're not the nice ones you can get at the art store, but they were cheap and I figured if I like working with coloured pencil after this batch, I'll invest in some nice pencils.

When I have the money.

After going to Wal-mart with Colleen we went back to her place and hung out for a while with Drew and Jared, and then Drew went to bed, so I took over playing Ninja Turtles on Jared's X-box with him, and Colleen watched for a while, but then went to bed as well.

Anyway, long story short, I drank a lot of beer and played a lot of Baulder's Gate with Jared.

"What time is it, Jared?"

"Uhm. After midnight."

"*Duh*. What time is it?"

"Uh. About five hours after midnight?"

"*What?!* It's 5am? I gotta go home!"

"Wait. Let's finish this level. Then you can go."

Anyway, needless to say I got home at about 5am.

I was *tired*.

Slept in late, then called Colleen and we went to the Parkland Mall (and actually got there before it closed). It was fun wandering around.

I picked up a bunch of really cheap frames from the dollar store for my next art show today, when I was at the mall with Colleen.

It's almost together.

I hate frames. I think they're ugly. I can never find ones that I'm satisfied with.

Stupid frames.

Anyway, I have homework to do, so I'll stop this.

.

Rosie.

Before&After