Reading and ADD
February 13, 2005 - 5:14 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I read to much.

It keeps me up at night and distracts me from my work.

Sometimes I think I have a pretty severe case of ADD, because I can't stand doing the same thing for a long period of time and I can't focus unless I'm focussing on at least two things.

I always have a sketchbook in class. If I don't, it's almost unbearable, even if I like the class.

To sit, quietly, and listen for a couple hours! Oh my god. It makes my mind snap.

If I don't finish the book I'm reading before I go to sleep, I'll lay awake and fretfully think about it until I flick my light on again and finish the damned book.

It's let to a number of sleepless nights.

~

I've been doing pretty good lately. I miss Loren something awful, but he'll be here at the end of the week.

My money situation is good, my practicum situation is pretty good, and my prospects are bright.

Hell, I can do ANYTHING.

That's right, folks. I'm your typical young fresh-from-school hopeful. The world is my oyster. If I try hard enough, I can do ANYTHING.

And I do mean anything.

~

Oi vey.

Alright. Being curious, I looked up the symptoms of ADD while writing this, and this is more or less what I came up with:

Sluggish (Yep. I'm pretty sluggish. I certainly don't go out of my way to move.)
Honors other�s boundaries (It's very important to me that others honour mine, so I try to honour theirs.)
Obedient (I'm certainly not rebellious.)
Underassertive (I've been working on this one, but I'm still pretty apathetic.)
Overly Polite (I don't know about overly, but I'm definately significantly polite.)
Docile (I used to be, when I was a child.)
Modest (I think I'm pretty modest. I don't really know. I'm certainly physically modest.)
Shy (As a child I was painfully shy. It took a lot of working to work out most of my shyness.)
Socially Withdrawn (You can say that again!)
Bonds with others but doesn�t attract friends (I have lots of friends; however, I have very few close friends.)

Since girls with ADD are many times very polite and quiet, their ADD may go unnoticed and undiagnosed for years. They may silently struggle and are many times very sensitive to criticsm and very emotional, causing a great deal of inner turmoil. While their hyperactive counterparts seem relatively untouched by stress around them (although this may not be true), bouncing around as if nothing mattered, the girls with ADD have a very low tolerance for stress and can become even more withdrawn, feeling as if they are not good at anything.

(I am very sensitive to criticsm, so I've always tried to avoid it, or become the best at my fields of interest. Or at least give people nothing to criticize. I've gotten better about it, though, but bad criticsm still makes me very upset.)

(I'm very, very, frustratingly emotional. I cry at the drop of a pin. Over the Christmas break I seem to recall bursting into tears while driving with Loren because I was unhappy. My mother always gets mad at me for crying when I shouldn't be, but I can't help it. Thinking about it makes me want to cry.)

(I have issues with not thinking I'm good at anything all the time. I struggled with it for the entirety of the first term. That's another reason I strive to be oustanding in areas I apply myself to, or at least better than those around me.)

As I was saying, maybe I had ADD. Maybe I should get tested.

Maybe I'm on crack.

That's possible, too. Hmmm.

.

Rosie.

Before&After