Pesto of Peril
February 27, 2005 - 6:31 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Oh, I feel so sorry for poor Loren!

See, he came over for dinner last night, the last night I had at home, and my dad made my mom's pesto.

I love pesto. My mom grows her own basil in a dozen pots which she makes us haul around the porch so they're always in the sun.

Anyway, they always do wonderfully, and we always have fresh basil. When the leaves are full out my mother trims the biggest and best and freezes them for pesto.

That's all. I don't think she does anything else with the basil.

Anyway, so it was all from scratch, and it was good. Unfortunately for Loren, my dad miscalculated the garlic and put tons of garlic in the recipe.

No problems with me. I love garlic. The more garlic the better.

Loren doesn't even like kissing me when I've been eating a little garlic.

Anyway, I had to sit all through dinner and watch him force his portion down, and I knew he wasn't exactly enjoying it, but I didn't want to say anything (my mom's kind of nasty that way).

Poor Loren. Ah, I hope he's gotten the taste out of his mouth.

He'd never had pesto before. I think he would have liked it a lot better without the garlic (it's still a great recipe).

.

Rosie.

Before&After