My little old TV.
March 04, 2005 - 2:28 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I bought a tv yesterday, with the fifty dollar bill my mother gave me over the break.

A tv, AND a vcr!

The tv's small and the vcr is old. The tv isn't bad. It's new enough that it works, and looks nice, and has a remote. A REMOTE!

I was very lucky.

I was looking in one of my favorite pawn shops (Cute Dave drove me, because he was going out anyway and I didn't want to carry the tv in my backpack), and most of their tv's were significantly too expensive for me. I only had seventy-five dollars in cash on me, and that was for the tv and the vcr. I didn't really want to pay more than sixty dollars, period. The extra fifteen was just in case.

I found one I liked, but it had no remote, so the really helpful guy at the desk said he'd check in the back.

"Hmm. There's nothing he--oh! Hang on. Hang on a minute! Here's one, *with* a remote!"

He hauled a little silver tv into view, with a remote, detatchable antenna, and manual taped to the side.

"Let's see, it's--"

I was expecting sixty dollars.

"--$39.99."

"Wow! That's perfect!" said I, in exhuberance. "Now, if it *works*..."

He went about setting it up, and I went back to the VCR's.

There was one for $25 that I was considering, but it was a little on the expensive side, and if there was tax, I'd have to put that on my debit.

Not a happy thought.

I was flipping through the vcr's (a pretty apt description, actually), when I caught sight of one of the price tags:

$9.99.

I double checked.

Nope. It was still $9.99.

w00t!

The clerk and I hooked up the two beasts, and tested a video in the vcr. The vcr has a tiny wobble every now and then, but it doesn't make any weird noises or eat tapes, and there's no tracking problems or colour problems.

Pretty good in my books. :)

I was thrilled.

Now I can watch Family Guy and Futerama in bed before I go to sleep, rather than downstairs. The walk back to my dorm always woke me up.

Huzzah!

.

Rosie.

PS, Also, I flicked on the tv this morning to help me wake up (it worked) and found out that Kung Fu: The Legend Continues plays on Showcase every morning at 9! That gives me motivation to wake up!

Before&After