If I had a million dollars...
November 04, 2005 - 11:52 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

If I had all the money in the world to build a house...

I would have a library with tall ceilings a rolling ladder for shelf access. It would have large windows, but heavy curtains, and window seats, as well as one or two pieces of squishy furniture.

I would have a ballroom in which to host parties. It would open up on to a series of balconies, which in turn would lead to a simple, but pretty garden.

I would have a sitting room, with old fashioned furniture and plenty of small side tables for teacups.

My bedroom would be large, with a bed that was raised at least four feet from the floor (like the top of a bunk). It would have curtains around it, and be sturdy. I would also have bookshelves in my room for my most precious books.

I would have a study, which would contain a fantastic sound system as well as a desk and a computer for writing. It would be virtually sound proof. I would also have a television, but one that could be hidden away.

I would have secret rooms. What I would use them for? Treasure of course. Duh. What else do people have secret rooms for? Except deranged relatives, and I don't have any that really need to be hidden away. One would definately be behind a bookshelf.

I would have at least two spare rooms for guests.

Kitchen would be standard. Definately have a dishwasher. I wouldn't have a dining room, I don't think. If I had a really big dinner that I needed a table for, I'd set it up in the ballroom. I don't much like dining rooms. I'd take my dinner in the study.

Oh, and I'd have a root cellar, because I've always liked the idea of a root cellar. It could be accessed through the kitchen and outside (both doors could be locked). I would store potatoes and yams in there, and fruit (I hate cold fruit; I like it at room temperature), except berries, which go in the fridge. It would have a secret trap door in the floor that would lead in a winding manner to the basement. Excess tea would go in there as well.

I'd have a basement. For storing shite. I seem to gather stuff that always needs to be stored. Odd how that happens.

That's about it.

I have to pee now. Excuse me.

.

Rosie.

Before&After