Not writing and burning lemmings
December 21, 2005 - 11:22 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I have been sorely neglecting my writing lately.

I don't feel like doing anything.

I really do want to finish it. I've been pleased with it. I feel it's less...amateur than my previous writings.

Of course, I could be on drugs. That's highly possible.

I've been sorely displeased with most fantasy that's been coming out.

If I read the back and the description has the word 'epic' or 'saga' I immediately put the book down again.

Also, if on closer inspection, it's a story that 'spans the ages', I also put it down.

I want fantasy stories about people that could be me.

And I'm definately not blessed by the Gods and weilding the sword that can claim my kingdom back from the evil Witch/Warlock Whats-His-Face.

Yeah, no.

That's why I tend to like Mercedes Lackey's books. I could be those characters!

Well, not all of them, OBVIOUSLY.

Wouldn't it be nice to be able to just write all the time?

There was a time I wanted to be an author. I still kind of do, but more of a sideline to theatre.

However, if I became disgustingly rich and famous for my writing, I wouldn't complain either. ;)

The story I was writing for NaNoWriMo's main character is named Elina, and that just happens to be the working title (I think it's pretty silly to name your book before it's written, so I'm not).

In Elina, I think my first page is kind of weak. I need something that draws people in right away. I may add something, because it's just a block of description at the beginning, and who likes that?

I think I may add just a little paragraph at the beginning.

Anyway, I should write it before I edit it.

I also have a problem in writing with being too subtle.

I really work in little hints and foreshadowing, but apparently no one picks up on them but me.

Oh well. At least I know I'm a genius. ;)

On another note, I made earrings for Jannette in the form of burning lemmings.

They ended up being too big, the size of Christmas ornaments, so I think that's what they'll be.

I'm working on another pair, but smaller.

They're turning out well.

Huzzah for me!

.

Rosie.

Before&After