A brief camping trip.
August 20th, 2001 - 1:31 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I'm ba-a-a-a-a-a-ack!

Feel the fear, people, feel the fear.

It was a generally good trip. I've decided I don't particularely like camping their way, though, with camp stoves and every day food and electric lights. I dunno. Maybe I'm just used to SCA food, but...

Oo, it was so funny...I was packing to go camping and the first things that popped into my head, automatically, were: garb, candles, dagger...I ended up bringing half my garb, because it was the toughest, most practical clothing I had...Heheh. I do say I got some odd looks, though. And I packed my cooler like I was going to an SCA event. Sausage (pre-cooked, of course), hard boiled eggs, bread (unsliced), cheese, wheat crackers, a bit of fruit, and apple juice. I always bring those things when I'm going to an SCA evenet because they don't need to be cooked, and they're healthy and practical.

I was just about to walk out the door with my stuff on Saturday, and my dad looked an me and said simply, "Don't you want a flashlight?" And my first thought was, "Flashlight? That's not period. Plus, I won't need one, because there'll be torches every here and the--oh. Wait. Dammit." It hadn't occured to me to bring a flashlight...I did bring one, and it was strange. I hadn't been camping with a flashlight in, like, two years, at least.

I know, I know. I'm too used to the SCA.

Speaking of which, I never made it to Circus Glutius Maximus. Alas, alack, but these things happen. Can't have everything, now, can we?

My feet hurt. We climbed a mountain. I'm very proud of myself, seeing as I hate hiking, and I did it in nearly complete garb.

It was a two hour hike up, if you didn't stop. I stopped. It was a three hour hike up.

It was nice, though. We saw some nice rocks and nice snow and nice water and nice flowers and a tree that looked like it had a bum growing on it. I wanted to go skinny dipping in the little lake thing, but the bottom was pretty nasty and I probably would have sunk into it. And that would have been a Bad Thing.

I did run around without my shirt with just a scarf barely tied around my breasts, though. That's the one reason why I like hiking. I can run around with as little clothing as I want on when I get to the top. Fortunately all the other people who had been hiking had left. It was rather nice.

There was lots of trees. When we got to the very top of the mountain, where there wasn't much, I was a Bad Girl and pulled up a tiny gnarled little tree which I'm going to plant in a pot and put in my room. Does keeping a little tree from being mutilated by high winds and cold tempuratures at the top of a mountain make me a Bad Person?

Agh. I need a shower. I'm gonna run and have a shower. I still have people to email, but I don't have time right now. My older bro wants to get on the comp. So I depart. Adieu, mes amies, 'til we talk again.

.

Rosie.

PS, I found some mp3's of Russell Watson! Whoo!

Before&After