How I saved a dollar and made a fool of myself in public
August 22nd, 2001 - 4:12 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I went over to visit Mystica last night. I had actually phoned originally for Tyler, to invite him to Laura's going away party...

Oh, that's right! Laura's finally decided where she's going. Prince George. So if you live in Prince George and run into a bubbly college student named Laura, tell her Rosie says hi. :)

...but anyway, as I was saying, I phoned Tyler, but he wasn't home, and Mystica figured out who I was, and asked me "why wasn't I up there?". So I told her I wasn't quite sure, and she fairly ordered me to visit. So I did. In my lounging clothes...I know you've got them too. The clothes you roll out of bed into on a lazy day when you've got nothing much to do besides slink around the house and be comfortable. Ya. Those clothes. Well, mind consist of pants I've mentioned before (ginormous, brown, I fit comfortably in one leg...those ones...), the short cherry red kimono thing Laura gave me, and a faded purple silk scarf/shawl with little blue fringes I got a few days ago that a wrap around my nasty dirty hair. And bare feet. Very missmatched. So I went up to Mystica's in this. They didn't care much, as they're used to people in strange clothing. So I played with Aurora for a while, talked with Alissa, Mystica and Jennifer. And Tyler, 'cause he ended up showing. And we tackled each other, as usual. (Gotta love Tyler...what a glorious flamer...) Then passed out on the floor after covering the sleeping Alissa with her favorite yellow blanket. She sleeps so peacefully. And I woke up in the morning to the cat curling up on my thighs just below my bum. Then I went back to sleep. Then I woke up again to a phonecall from Dustin's work saying he was fired. Can you say 'drug binge' boys and girls? Dustin doesn't even live there, but he had left the phone number at his work as a contact number. I do like the guy, but...well...he's changed since he got into the drugs. He invited me over and offered me hash once, but I didn't really feel like it, so I didn't take him up on his offer, but rather spent the time discussing philosiphy and the fact that one of the other guys was really a puppet in disguise with the three really high males. He believed me, and was a floppy stringless puppet until one of the guys brought him to life...it was odd.

Anyway, I'm straying again. Let's see, where was I...Oh yes, my dad told me if I needed bus faire he was at the college so I could just walk over and get bus faire from him. It didn't register to me that I was dressed in a very strange manner and clashed horribly when I agreed. But in the morning, like hell I was walking home in my current condition, so I went over to the college...on their lunch break...so I passed through several small growds of people...who stared...so I stared back, naturally. No one wanted to hold my gaze for very long. Heheheheh.

I had to walk all over the freakin' college to find my dad. I even went into the administration office and asked. They looked at me strangely. I explained. Fortunately they were all female and understood me. ;)

I went to his classroom, but he wasn't there, so I asked one of the students if he knew were he was, but he didn't...so I asked if he could tell my dad I was looking for him if he turned up...so he said he would...

So I looked for the car in the parking lot, and sure enough my dad was asleep inside. So I waited a while and he woke up shortly. He looked so old and tired when he first woke up. My dad's getting really old and grey...Creepy...So my dad gave me bus faire and snickered at my tale, and I went to wait for the bus...and who should be walking along the street, heading home, but Ed. Ed is wonderful. I like Ed. So I went to say hullo and all that. He looked tired. He was just dropping off his sword and water jug at home before he was heading to work...so I gave him a hug and said g'bye...and five minutes later, who should turn up but Nathan. I've gotten over Nathan! Well, mostly. There's still a pang of regret that we didn't work out, but what ever. Things happen. And we talked for a little and he offered to give me a ride home.

So that was my day. Well, not quite. I made some Midnight Mints, which are basically mint nanaimo bars. Mmmm...For Laura's farewell party. Gotta wrap that book I bought for her...

So I'm here. And she's there. And all is well with the world. Well, in my world, anyway.

And that, my friends, is how I save myself a dollar and made a fool of myself in public.

Oh, and some old lady named Tilda that my mom knows and my Nana has been penpals with since high school made me promise to phone her when I got somewhere as an actress and to never, ever doubt that I'm going to be anything but wonderful. Everyone needs that every now and then, I think. It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside..

And with that, I depart and finish making some deserts...desserts...well, the sweet kind. Y'know.

So farewell, my friends, 'til I appear again.

.

Rosie.

Before&After