In which I'm snapped forcefully out of depression
September 24, 2001 - 4:06 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I would like to take this time to thank what ever higher power put Nathen on this planet. THANK YOU! Good god, he was just what I needed...

No, not that way, you pervert!...See, my mother decided yesterday I'd been spending too much time inside, and kicked me out of the house. And I didn't like this, see, because I was angry (over nothing, really), depressed for various reasons, unbearably sad and I'd been on the verge of tears ever since my mother bitched me out for not sweeping the floor properly. So all I really wanted to do was sit in the basement and wallow in my self pity.

Unbeknownst to me that was exactly not what I needed, I needed to be around people, people who's emotions I could feed off.

So I was kicked out of the house. And I /hated/ it. I didn't want to be outside. I wanted to curl up in some dark place and sit in a puddle of self mourning. But I figured, now which place am I always welcome, I havn't been to in a while, and would cheer me up?...Brennain and Mystica's. So I changed out of my lounging clothes (into all black, because that was how I felt), and hiked up to Brennain and Mystica's. And cried all the way. Well, not quite, but I was /this/ close to bursting out in tears. If I hadn't been holding my breath halfway there I would have. And on the way there I see a van stop at an intersection and some guy lean out of the window, wave vigerously and yell:

"Hey Rosie!"

"Hey!...Who's that?"

He leans out a bit more.

"Oh, hi Nathen."

And off they drive, whom ever it was driving taking Nathen home. And I head up to Brennain and Mystica's.

I walk in to silence, except for Keredok, the baby, giggling, and 'round the corner to Mystica reading and Brennain resting on the couch.

Mystica: "Oh, hey Rosie. How're you?"

Brennain: "Hey Rosie."

Me, not exactly loudly because I didn't want to cry in front of them: "Depressed, sad, and my parents just kicked me out of the house."

Brennain, raising an eyebrow: "Kicked you out of the house?"

Me: "Yeah. Temporarily. They said I wasn't getting out enough, even though I'd hardly been home all weekend."

Mystica: "Well, come in, sit down."

I take my shoes off, blow my nose, and sit down in the chair, kind of sullen and depressed.

Brennain goes out for a cigarette. Meanwhile Nathen comes in as Mystica is asking what's wrong. I just explain my mother wasn't exactly being the nicest, the past week had gotten me down...and I couldn't for the life of me remember why else I was depressed, but I knew there was something else.

Nathen: "Hi Rosie!"

Me: "Heyya Nathen..."

Nathen: "What's wrong?"

Me: "Nothin', just kind of depressed."

Nathen: "Why depressed?"

Me: "Eh, various reasons. Mom's being a bitch, some five thousand odd people died in the past week...You know. The usual."

Nathen, scowling at me: "I don't believe that's it. There's something else."

Me: "Well..." I couldn't remember anything else...

Nathen: "Careful, because if you keep that long face, I'm going to have to zerble you..."

"Zerble? I'm afraid to ask..."

"Heyheyhey! No long faces!" And he promptly jumps on my, rather awkwardly because I was sitting deep in a chair.

"Oo! Eek!"

"Careful, you can't protect both areas at once..." Meaning my stomach and my chest...

"Sure I can. I have two arms..."

"Yes, but I can still lick you and you can't do anything about it..."

I managed to fend him off.

....later....

Nathen: "You know, I didn't actually come over to see you guys. I cam over to see Rosie."

Me: "Eh?"

"Well, when you said hi before, you sounded like either you were really pissed off at me for something, or something was wrong. Now I know."

"Oh...well...uh..." Me, still having a bit of a long face.

"Hey! Careful! You're getting that face again!" I can't help but giggle...

...even later, when he's about to leave...

So I go up to hug Nathen, and normally I wrap my arms around his waist, pick him up and shake him a bit...but he got me first, so I had to wrap my arms around his neck...and he picked me up...one of the few males that can...and proceeded to very thoroughly 'zerble' my neck...which I'm sure someone has done to you some time in your life. You know, when someone presses their face against your skin and shakes their head back and forth while blowing out air very fast. Ya. That. And I struggled and squealed but didn't want to let go for fear of breaking his back with my entire weight in his arms...But I was put down eventually, only to have my arms pinned behind my back, my shirt flipped up and my stomach treated the same way. Hee. That was a most...interesting experience...and then he left.

And that, accompanied with playing with Aurora, really, /really/ boosted my mood.

So thank you, what ever higher force put Nathen on this planet Earth.

Thanks. I really needed it.

.

Rosie.

Before&After