In which I have an interesting night and a late morning
October 13, 2001 - 5:15 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Oh /my/. That's all I can say about the past twelve hours or so.

So I went to an art opening last night with my daddy. And we talked to people and discussed the art. I felt rather out of place, because everyone there was at least twice my age.

But we discussed art and color and patterns and if the paintings were faded or not because they were acrilic on paper instead of oils on paper or wood...But this lady seriously painted on everything. She's dead now, she died sometime in the 60's or the 70's, but her daughter was there, and I talked with her a bunch. She was kind of hard to understand, but a very bright lady...Ya, but this lady painted on everything she could bloody well get her hands on! Paper, wooden boards, canvas (badly stretched, I might add), even one done on embroidery linen. She didn't do very many paintings alike, and most of them were quick and looked like one hour deals.

There was this one painting I liked, but it seemed really out of place. It was a highly detailed picture of a big vase of wildflowers against a multiple shades of red background. It was a really nice painting, but unusual, because as I said it was highly detailed, where as most of her work was blocks of color, and had a lot of yellow in them...and it looked really out of place. You could tell it had been done by her. There was running commonalities (is that even a word?) in the brush strokes of all the paintings...

Anyway, so afterwards Daddy and I went and bought some chips from the chip truck (excellent chips, by the way) and went home and watched most of The Red Violin while eating them. We missed the first part of the movie, but /damn/. Once I got what the heck was going on it was just, like, *wow*. I'm not surprised people were always like "Dood! Go see that movie!". I didn't know what it was about when I started watching it except, well, the red violin.

So I was watching the movie, eating my chips, and who should come along but Colleen! Yay for Colleen! And she brought me chocolates for my birthday. Yay for Colleen! She promptly became my hero.

So then Laura phoned and I talked to Laura and Colleen talked to Laura and then we all hung up.

And Colleen and I went out for tea at the Redfish, and I saw Dave, and Roland, and Aradia, and it was all good. So she and I went out for tea, as I mentioned before, at it was great. I drank tea, she ate food, and we had a wonderful general talk about this and that and everything in between.

And then Colleen left. *sniff* She had to be somewhere in the morning, so couldn't stay.

So I walk out and am promptly run down by Roland, who then (promptly) hurts himself on a garbage can while chasing me around a lamppost. Go figure. ;) I hope it's not seriously damaged.

Anyway. So then I met up with Brian. Yay for Brian! And Dave, and...oh, I can't remember her name...and Dylan, and later Nat when I went up to Brian's place.

So I went over to Subway to say hullo to Mike, and there was this fellow that was really trying to pick a fight with Roland. But fortunately he was so drunk/stoned out of his mind, he couldn't get up from his seat. So we ignored him.

Oh! We saw Janet and Vern and went in to Subway with them. I havn't seen Vern in /ages/. He and Janet were heading back to his place to watch movies and drink beer.

Gotta love flamers. ;)

So I saw Mike on his way in to work, and it was kind of like:

"Miiiiiiiiiike!"

"Rosie!"

"Mike, stay there for just one second."

"Ooookay..."

In which I promptly squeezed out from where I was sitting, wrapped my arms around his torso, picked him up and shook him for a bit. (Yes, there was an "Eeek!")

And put him down. (I was in a strange mood last night.)

So he stood, stunned for a moment, grinning for ear to ear (damn, he's got adorable dimples).

"Okay, my turn!"

And the favor was returned, but I wasn't carrying a backpack, so I wrapped my legs around his waist and my arms around his neck.

And promptly dissapeared and headed up to Brian's place. And Dylan and Nat's place.

Andrea! That's the name of the woman who's name I couldn't remember earlier. She's nice. She was the costumer for a play I was in once. She's got a parrot that doesn't like me much. Birds tend not to like me particularely much, probably because I've adopted so many little subconcious feline traits from being with Ditto all the time. I don't mean to freak 'em out, really, but they just look so /tasty/...;)

And we talked about everything from anal sex (hey, you've got a room full of men ranging from 18 to 26...what else are they going to be talking about?) to little paper leprichauns with wooden feet. And we watched a movie.

The Forsaken is one of the stupidest vampite movies I have ever seen. I mean, in concept it was good, and the historical aspects that are explained through out it are good, but really, people...if you're strong enough to thrust your hand through someone's torso and grap their heart on your way past, are you /really/ going to rely heavily on guns? I think not.

But yes, the concept of the movie was good, but it was...well...slow at times. Too slow for the type of the movie it was. I think it would have worked better if the editting was done in more short clipped, fast scenes rather than long shots. There were some scenes like that. It was pretty snazzy.

Heh. I like that word. Snazzy.

So anyway, 'bout 3am, I decide it's about time to leave.

So, naturally, I head down to Subway, see if Curtis and Mike are still working. They're in the back, so I claw at the window 'til Mike notices, and promptly jumps on Curtis in order to steal his keys to unlock the door to let me in. They were closing the store, you see. I couldn't hear much of what was going on, but it was amusing to see two Subway employess leaping on each other behind the counter and...yes. It was amusing.

You know, I think, just maybe, Mike is rather fond of me. Just maybe. ;)

So I come in, and blab and talk and watch them work. I didn't feel like offering to do the dishes again.

So two hours later, we all leave, and Mike and I part from Curtis (he lives in a different direction than us).

And Mike walks me to the corner we usually split ways at.

Usually.

I was kind of indecisive. See, going home meant food, sleep, and waking up in the morning to my parents smiling faces--

I went with Mike to his apartment.

Two room little thing. His bedroom is also his kitchen. Go figure.

Needless to say, after a while I checked the clock. 7:30am. And so I insisted we go to sleep.

See, but one thing I did not really realize is that Mike covers his windows because he usually does the bar shift, and so sleeps all day.

Did this occur to me, that if I went to sleep at the same time Mike did, I would sleep all day?...Nooo...Of course it didn't.

So eventually we both kind of slip out of sleep and...well...we skip a little to when I check my watch.

"Holy fuck! It's 4pm!"

"No way. I thought it was only, like, noon."

"Me too, but look. It's 4 o'clock."

"Crappy...Ah well! I'm not complaining."

"Yes, but I told my parents I'd be home in the morning...and it's nearly 4 now..."

Needless to say it took about half an hour of struggling (half-heartedly, of course), getting up, putting on another artical of clothing, then being tossed back on his bed, before I actually managed to get my shoes on, the door open, a good-bye kiss and run off.

Mmmmm...Excuse me while I reminiss...I know I spelled that wrong...

I do like Mike, I seriously do, and I have a lot of fun with him (no! No! In the clean sense!) and it's great talking to him and stuff, but...well...I'm always terrified that men are only interested in my to get me in bed. I mean, he knows I'm a virgin, and doesn't try anything of the sort on me, but I'm still uneasy...

Heh. And apparently Cory called me a 'hot chick with huge breasts' when discribing me to his fellow employees after I slipped in bed with Mike for the first time over at Cory's place...Little did Cory realize he was talking to Curtis, who knew me way before Cory did...which isn't saying much, but still...;) And apparently I was also 'banging all night' and...yes. Etcetera, etcetera. It's kind of funny, though, because Mike and I made so much noise because we were laughing so damn much. Go figure. ;)

Anyhoo.

So I get out of Mike's apartment building, and who should I see walking away, crossing the street, but my daddy! So I chased him down, and he had been half-heartedly looking for me while going out for a paper. I kind of figured, which is why I chased him down rather than just going home.

He bought me a little food, and asked where I'm most likely found when on Baker Street. Which is reasonable. So I told him: Subway (no, /really/?!), Redfish Grill (either at the window, or on one of the lounging couches in the back), the two sewing stores, Johnny's Bakery (hey! I've got a sweet tooth, okay? And they make /really/ good pasties), or, unlikely but possible, at Dorf's. A pool hall, basically. If I'm not in any of the cafes. I'm a cafe hopper. The only one I don't frequent in is Jigsaws. To commercial for me. I like the little indipendant coffee shops. Like the Dominion Cafe (wonderful tea, and excellent hot chocolate), or Glacier Gourme (their chocolate cake and pizza are the best in Nelson...though Leo's Pizza and Pizza Reo does really good pizza too)...Sidewinders is a chain, but it's kind of tailored to Nelson tastes. Lots of chai and soy and stuff. They've got the very best hot chocolate of all.

And the Vienna Cafe. Their sherbert and ice cream has no rival.

Anyway, so I came home, and my mother made me eat, though I wasn't hungry. And now I feel really ill. This is not a Good Thing.

So I'm going to go lay on the couch...maybe I should find my needlework...that'd be nice...I wanna do some cross stitch. Maybe I can find some linen...ooo!..No. Wait. That's at school. Crap.

Ah well, I go. Lay down. Be quiet and docile and modest, as usual. ;P

.

Rosie.

Before&After