"Different", Installment I
November 05, 2001 - 4:55 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

"Today is the first day of the rest of your life." my dad told me this morning after he woke me up. "You know that? It's how alcaholics do it. One day at a time." and he turned on my light and closed my door. I've been kind of thinking about it all day...

But anyway. Oh, yesterday Tavis phoned. Tavis! Tavis the Courteous. Met him at Clinton. Never actually thought he would phone, but he did, and it was really nice talking to him again. Like, really nice.

Ooo. Nice song just came on. It used to make me cry, but I've listened to it so much it doesn't anymore. Just makes my heart leap and hover with delighted anticipation. Which is nice. It never fails to do that.

Anyway. I actually had a purpose this entry. See, a week or two ago I mentioned maybe starting putting writing in my diary, sections at a time, because I fear that my daily life is slowly boring you people and it needs some spice...wow...talk about run on sentace...Anyhoo, I thought about it today, and I think this is a good thing. It'll keep me motivated to write, especially if people leave me notes and comments (*hinthint* ;p). I think I shall start with one of my few finished pieces, called "Different". A lot of people who've read it have told me it seems incomplete, but I was kind of thinking of the time of how chapters in novels were short stories in themselves, so I'm not surprised this kinda sounds like the beginning of a longer story...And remember, people, all this writing is copyrighted to /me/. Me. The one, the only, me...actually, I can't prove I'm the only me, and would it be neat if I /wasn't/? ;)...

"Different"

Installation I

Despite the heat still lingering around the town from the setting sun, the four figures were heavily clad in cloaks and leathers as they steered their horses towards the center of the town.

One of the figures, clearly female and the most heavily armed, held up her hand, indicating a stop.

�Where�s the nearest Inn?�

The third person in the line approached, leaving her horse with the second. �Should we really?� Her voice was calm and collected, barely above a murmur though clearly heard in the bustling noise of the village streets.

�We haven't the time to look for her tonight. We will begin tomorrow,� the first speaker replied, slightly impatiently.

�Right. I think the Dancing Dolphin will do nicely,� the second speaker replied gently.

The first woman raised her clenched leather clad fist almost absently, the tight black material distinctly outlining a band around the middle of her hand, between her thumb and the first knuckle of her fingers. A dulled clack sounded as the women pressed their hands together, back to back.

�You lead. You know this town better than I,� the warrior woman told the second woman and she nodded, stepping back only to grasp the reins of her horse before moving onwards.

***

Midnight, and a cloaked figure flitted through the shadows of the town square. A waxing moon rose, its cool silver light shining faintly on the manacles that clamped the shadowed figure to the center platform.

Another flit, a pause, and the darkly clad figure started through the square, the long strides constrained by the folds of cloak. A broad brimmed hat cast inky shadows down his face and down his chest in an arc, darkening as he drew close to the platform. Pearly white light lit up the tangle of red-gold hair that masked a section of the dozing prisoners face.

�Sil, dear Sil...� the cloaked figure murmured, leaning across the platform to reach the girl.

The girl whimpered softly and shifted in restless, uncomfortable sleep, the chained boards keeping her in place rattling and creaking against each other.

A bead of light grew on the man�s outstretched finger, growing to a glittering spark as it touched the girl�s dirtied forehead. A tiny sigh emitted from her cracked lips and she fell limp, into a sound dreamless sleep.

Just as the spark died, a shout was heard and a clatter of boots, growing in one of the side streets. The man spun, alarmed, and darted across the square and into a narrow street at the far side.

***

Stay tuned for installment II tomorrow.

Mmm...ice cream...

Oog. Got an SCA meeting to head to, so I'm off. Ta-ta, mes amies, 'til we speak again. ;)

.

Rosie.

Before&After