In which I talk to much about stuff that really has no significance what so ever
November 10, 2001 - 1:33 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Hmm. Full, generally warm, and tired. What a lovely feeling.

So anyway, we had no school today, so I did virtually nothing. Just petered around the house, read some mail I got from Red Deer College, played the violin, watched tv, made truffles, played computer...just the way I like it. ;) Well, not all the time, but I certainly needed the day off.

So late afternoon I decide that yup. It was time for one of those detested things called showers. As you may know already, I don't like having showers. I don't know what it is about them. I have no problem taking baths, but they don't get me as clean for as long as showers do. But I decided that /this/ time I was going to get /really/ clean. Like, really, REALLY clean. I was going to /scrub/. Not with my hand (too smooth). Not with a wash cloth (still too smooth). With a scrubbing brush (juuuuust right). And I'm not talking about one of them sissy bath brushes, I'm talking about the real thing, the thing you see pictures of your grandmother scrubbing the floor with scrubbing brush. The hard hogshair bristles set in a hunk of wood. That kind of scrubbing brush. So I hunted it down, cleaned it thoroughly, scrubbing the soap across it a couple times and attacked. By the time I got out of that shower I was literally pink and raw all over. It kinda stung scrubbing in the more sensitive areas, and so I had to be careful. But I knew I was clean. I think I'll keep the habit up. I hate only being half clean. I'm either comfortably dirty or squeaky clean.

So yes. I had a *bleagh* shower. Then I sat around in my room, barely dressed (which is an over statement, by the way, because anything that was worth wearing was in the washing machine) and waited for my clothes to finish washing and drying...and I found my make-up from way back when. Now, normally, with in the last year or so, I kind of gave up on make-up. I've never really liked eye make-up because it's a b*tch to get off (excuse my language). Girls, flamers and theatre people know what I mean. You have an ugly shadow around your eyes from at least two days after you wear eye make-up. So, naturally, nearly all my eye make-up it white, light blue, and silver. But I really don't wear a heck of a lot of make-up generally. Lipstick fairly often, but nothing elaborate. (My favorite color of lipstick is 'Chocolate', by Covergirl. I bought it on a whim one day, and have ended up /loving/ it. Sure, it's a chocolate brown, but it's slightly transparent so the color of your lips shows through, turning the brown into a rich kind of crimson brown...it's hard to explain, really, but it's a lovely colour...speaking of which, I think I'm running out of it...) In fact, I only ever wear two or three shades of lipstick. The Chocolate color, a lighter shiny red with gold dust mixed in with it, and a dark matte wine red. Those are the only three shades I tend to wear, and the last two fairly infrequently. I don't wear eye make-up, and I continually lose my powder cover-up (I find anything else, except maybe a cream cover-up to dot on blemishes, too much. I like the natural look most of the time) and I never wear blush outside of the theatre...

But I'm getting side-tracked. So I found my make-up today and thought "Hm. I haven't worn make-up in /such/ a long time..." so I searched my room and dug up as much as I could, and started playing. Needless to say my eyes sparkled with silver dust, a glimmering white cream, and black liner /ever/ so lightly around the outer corner of my eyes, just to keep my eyes from looking washed out. My lips, at first, gained a distinctly shimmering purple hue, but that /really/ made me look washed out, and my lips promptly changed to that lovely dark matte red. No blush, though. I don't think I own blush. I used to own mascara, but I don't know where it went. Same with the cover up. But I've always been a fan of sparkles and shimmering dust, so needless to say I have quite a collection of a variety of types (my personal favorite being a silver-dust/sparkles/flesh-coloured-powder mux that I bought from the Body Shop last year some time). And these sparkles which I've only been able to find in Greenwood (a blink-and-you-missed-it town). Beautiful sparkles. Dry and fine. No icky gells.

Egad my little brother snores! Oh /how/ her /snores/!!...And when he isn't snoring he's making these funny little animalistic whimpering and muttering noises. He's always done that, as far as I can remember. Family vacations used to be hell, especially since we usually all slept in the same room (the kids did, anyway). And David would start up his snoring, and Martin would wake up and beat him around the head until he stopped. Which he usually didn't. I remember one time at my mother's friend's sister's place (the friend was house sitting there, if I remember correctly), we were all sleeping in the living room, and early, early in the morning David started making these whimpering noises. I mean, usually we can handle the snoring, because ye just roll him over and he usually stops snoring. Usually. But he started making those noises and wouldn't stop no matter what we did. So my mother finally beat him with a pillow until he woke up (complaining loudly, of course). Actually, I can't remember if she beat him with a pillow or plugged him nose. I think she beat him with a pillow first, then plugged his nose because he didn't wake up and he didn't stop...heheheheh...

Hmm. I'm cold..

Oh yes. So I put on make up, hung up my laundry (and stuck what could be stuck in to the dryer) and went downstairs to blow dry my hair. Which I never do. But I felt like it, so I did. Then braided it. I never really do anything fancy with my hair. Very rarely, anyway. I usually just pull it into a tight bun at the nape of my neck, or braid it down my back. Sometimes I do the 'half French braid', which is like a French braid but doesn't start where your hair starts, rather farther back...

So I braided my hair, wandered around a bit wrapped in the short red kimono thingie Laura got me for my birthday, and a beautifully ugly knitted pink blanket which I've had for years...then went upstairs, got dressed, and promptly got distracted by a movie called Silent Cries on tv. Wow! What a movie! About women in prison camps in Japan during World War II. What a movie (didn't I just say that?). I cried and cried.

Then I went out. Headed down to Dorf's Billiard Hall to see Ed. Sure enough, he was working. Turns out it's his birthday on Sunday. Having a party tomorrow. Whoo! Remind me. 10pm, at Dorf's. His boss let him have the place from 10 'til 2am. Great, if I do say so myself. ;) I think I'll just get him a card for his birthday. Something funny. I wonder how old he's turning...

Then headed over to Subway to see if Mike was working. He wasn't, but he was there. Curtis and Rye were working. Heehee. Funny Rye. Mike was just there to bug Rye, and so I joined him and had a hell of a time with it.

And I got bored and so dragged Mike with me to the Redfish Grill and we had peppermint tea and talked about things. It was nice. He always crosses his eyes and sticks out his bottom lip just after he's said something particularely silly. I think it's cute. ;) I don't think he even realizes he does it...

Oh, Laura phoned while I was out. Must remember to call her back.

Then we headed over to Mike's apartment. He needed to get something. I can't remember what, but needless to say, by the time left I don't think he even remembered to get what ever it was.

Mmm. I smell (and taste, come to think of it) like Mike still...No, no! No worries. I'm still very much a virgin here. But that doesn't mean I can't have a little fun every now and then. ;)

So, use your imagination there, tone it down about twelve hundred notches, and you've got it. Oh, and add the faint sounds of toilet paper commercials in the background (he remembered he had left the tv on just after I burst out in uncontrollable giggles over one of the commercials).

And so we headed back to Subway, 'cause he had to work. And I bought a sub, and talked to people I didn't know there, bugged Rye (and he bugged me quite joyfully right back), and headed back to Dorf's to see if Ed was still working. Sure enough, he was still working. And watching *bleagh* Buffy.

Let's get this straight. I am not, never have been and never will be, a Buffy fan. In fact, the very sight of her (no offense to the actress, I'm sure you're really nice and what not) makes me shudder with distaste. The entire series makes me gag. I used to not mind it way back in the day of the first few episodes. I mean, I liked the one they found out that guy was a werewolf. It wasn't too bad. Plus, nothing like finding yourself naked in the woods somewhere and can't remember how you got there and you know you were sober the night before...But other than that, I do /not/ like Buffy in the least. The two characters I can stand are Angel (I'm rather fond of the series 'Angel', but am no means a hooked watcher) and the werewolf guy...what's his name...you know who I'm talking about...Oz? I think that's his name. Everyone else just grates on my nerves. The way the film was does gets on my nerves. Buffy's make-up /really/ gets on my nerves...Oh, that big head vampire guy is pretty neat, until he opens his mouth. You know, the white haired one. He's cute. But other than that, he has little going for him in my books...So yes. My point is I dislike Buffy, and making me watch an entire episode is the equivilent of torture...

Anyway. Saw Ed again, and chatted a bit while he cleaned up, then headed home with my food. Found David half asleep and sleeping on the couch, kinda watching some war show. It was okay. Kind of repetitive. The moment he fell asleep I switched to Late Night with Conan O'Brian (after considerable surfing, of course). That's the only late night talk show I can handle. I find it amusing. Quite.

Oh, earlier, before I saw Ed the first time, I met some guy named Jason, I believe. Kind of weird, but that's expected in Nelson. Friendly and cheery. I'd seen him around town a lot, and he had seen me, and finally just asked: "Who are you?" so I answered. Logical thing to do, I thought. Told me about an art show at the Hall Street KSA studio, and I was like "Dude!" because we were walking right towards it. So I went in and looked around a bit (as did he, though he left much earlier than I). It looked like most of them were assignments that students had to do, famous painter/style/painting inspired things. There was some nice stuff, but most of it I didn't much care for. There was a rather nice one of a large woman asleep stretched out on a couch, wearing nothing but knee high socks stripes yellow and green. That was quite a nice painting. The detail was good without being too exact, leaving something for the imagination. Another nice one was a very religious looking painting of an angel, very detailed, looked like medieval illumination inspired (the angel had that something about her that you find in medieval illumination), but she was wearing a bike helmet, and was holding a bike at her side. It was quite neat. There was a nice other one, which obviously had parts copied from a famous Van Gogh painting. That kind of swirly, unblended, night sky. I don't remember what the name of it is, but I do remember the painting. I thin it was buildings at night with this magnificant curling sky and moon. Another painting which equaled the naked fat lady was a still life painting of fruit and paint brushes. It was simple, but very well painted. A lot of the paintings there were still wet...

You know what I've just realized? I've been writing an awful lot in here lately. I hope I don't bore too many people...then again, this is my freakin' diary, and I'm going to do what ever I bloody well please. ;)

And right now, I would like to brush my teeth, attempt to remove my eye make-up, and go to bed.

...My shoulder is hurting again. Mom schedualed a docter's check up for my in early December sometime. I'll have to remember to write down some things I want to ask him...specifically if I'm going to die earlier than I would be because of my sole kidney giving out...

Anyway. Bed I go. Good night, mon ami, may we both live through this night.

.

Rosie.

Before&After